Bubble Birthday Party!

My younger daughter (whom I affectionately call Julieboo) just turned 2.  Luckily for me, neither of my girls were particularly insistent on what they wanted for their parties at 2 years old.  I took advantage of their cluelessness and planned non-character themes for their first and second birthdays.  This meant no Elmo, Dora, Disney Princesses, Pooh, Spongebob, or any other character that I knew they might become attached to in the future.  Once Emily turned 3 I let her choose her party themes, just as I will let Julia choose hers too.   But birthdays 1 and 2 belong to me.  Imagine me laughing maniacally.  Bwahaha.

For Julia’s 2nd birthday I decided to throw a party based on one of Julia’s all-time favorite things: BUBBLES!  This girl loves her bubbles.  Seriously.  Bubble baths, bubbles in the backyard, even watching me blow bubbles with my bubblegum.  A quick scan of Pinterest gave me tons of great ideas, so I pinned everything I saw and went for it!

First, the invitation.  I found the bubble background and bubble alphabet online, and by taking screenshots and manipulating them in Word I was able to create this cute invite.  Before mailing them I matted them on a pink & white striped paper to tie in the other colors I planned to use at the party.

Screen Shot 2013-07-02 at 2.01.35 PM

I also made a banner to go with the theme:

IMG_0895

The food table was definitely fun to create.  Emily and I came up with a list of foods that either had the word “POP” in them or that were round like bubbles.  Here’s what we came up with:

  • “Bubble-blowing” Fishies (Goldfish crackers)
  • Rice “Bubbles” (rice cakes – one of Julia’s FAVORITE foods)
  • “Pop” corn
  • Oreo “Pops”
  • Potato “Circles” (I know, this one is a stretch.  But everyone loves chips at a party, right?)
  • “Pop”corn Chicken
  • “Bubble” Cookies (This one did NOT go as planned.  The party was too close to July 4th, and all the cookies had red, white, and blue sprinkles.  I had to pick off the red ones and add more blue sprinkles to try and cover it up).
  • Melon “Balls” (Another goof.  Hubby bought chunks, he didn’t realize I was going to use the melon baller.  Que sera, sera).
  • Soda “Pop”
  • “Bubble-free” Juice Pouches

IMG_0799Screen Shot 2013-07-09 at 11.43.29 PM

The cake didn’t quite go as planned, since the candy I bought to shape into a yummy bubble wand wouldn’t cooperate.  So my mom & I whipped up the mini-banner to give the cake a more 3-Dimensional look and covered the cake in the M&Ms we bought.

IMG_0801

For party favors I totally lucked out and found mini bottles of Mr. Bubble in the Dollar Spot at Target.  I made a “Bag of Bubbles” for each of the older kids (well, ages 2 and up) with the bubble bath, a Blow Pop, some bubblegum, and some bubbles for blowing.  I realize that toddlers don’t need the bubblegum or Blow Pop (I certainly didn’t let Emily have either until she was about 5 or 6), but if other moms are anything like me then I thought they might enjoy a treat in the bag too.  Personally, I LOVE cherry Blow Pops.  I also knew there would be a few babies at the party and wanted to have something for them.   Once again I lucked out at Target’s Dollar Spot and found some cute board books about bubbles.  (Sorry for the fuzzy picture).

Screen Shot 2013-07-10 at 8.23.05 AM

Now for the bubble-filled activities:

  • Bubble machine – Just a small one did a great job of keeping the air full of bubbles!
  • Clear Beach Balls (aka GIANT bubbles) bought here.
  • Bubble Wrap for stomping on – I bought mine from the Pack-N-Ship near my house
  • A small plastic pool full of bubble solution (I made my own using Dawn dishsoap)
  • A hula hoop in the pool for making GIANT bubbles
  • An assortment of bubble wands
  • Drinking straws taped together (a sort-of homemade bubble wand – they make cool gobs of bubbles)
  • Pipe cleaners – You can twist these to create your own bubble wands.  This was more fun for the older kiddos.

     IMG_0774    IMG_0783

IMG_1099

IMG_1117

  IMG_1098    IMG_1136

IMG_0784

Julia loved her party, and everyone had a great time.  Success!

IMG_1147

I’m a blessed Momma! Happy 2nd, Julieboo!

3 thoughts on “Bubble Birthday Party!

Tell me what you think, I'd love to hear from you!

