Oreo Pops, Anyone?

I love to make Oreo Pops for just about any event.  They are easy, yummy, and with a little creativity can be created to go with almost every theme or holiday – and they make a cute table decoration to boot!  Whenever I make them I get asked how I did it, so it seemed only fair to share the love – Oreo style!

Oreo PopsHere’s what you’ll need:

  • Wilton’s Candy Melts  (found at craft stores)
  • IMG_0924Lollipop sticks (I like to use different lengths)
  • Double-Stuf Oreos (do NOT use regular Oreos)
  • Block of Styrofoam (for drying the pops)

Steps: (It looks lengthy, but I wanted to explain things really well)

  1. Carefully take apart your Oreos.  It is important to make sure that all of the creme on the inside is stuck to only one of the cookies.  If your creme splits or your cookie breaks, I recommend starting over with another cookie, at least until you are familiar with the process.  
  2. Take a lollipop stick and slide it up into the creme of the cookie.
  3. Once your cookies are prepared, go ahead and melt the candies as the bag instructs. Some things to note about Candy Melts:
    • It doesn’t matter if the melts are already melted or misshapen in the bag or not, you should still follow the directions as stated.
    • In my experience it also doesn’t seem to matter if you are making the whole bag or just half the bag – I just follow the directions on the bag.
    • Be very careful with the candy melt – it can get extremely hot.
    • The consistency will be very thick when it is ready, don’t wait for it to get “runnier.”  The directions state to microwave for 1 minute at 50% power, stir, then microwave again in 30-second intervals at 100% power, stirring after each interval.  Mine is always ready after the 2nd round of 30-second intervals.
  1. Take a small amount of the candy melt and put it on top of the creme and lollipop stick, then put the top half of the cookie back on.  The candy melt will act as a “glue” to hold the 2 halves of the cookie together, making it stronger and less likely to break apart while coating the Oreo.

Screen Shot 2013-07-12 at 10.22.23 PM

  1. Put the “glued” Oreos into the freezer for about 5-10 minutes.  The package of Candy Melts says not to refrigerate, but I’m not patient enough to wait for the candy to harden on its own.
  2. After taking the Oreos out of the freezer you may start coating them with the Candy Melt.
    • I DO NOT recommend dipping them into the candy, despite what you may have read elsewhere.  Every attempt at this (for me) resulted in broken cookies – even though the freezer helps strengthen them, they can never seem to hold up with this method.
    • My trick is to spoon a glob of the melted candy onto the cookie, then I use my finger to gently rub it all over the Oreo until it is coated.  This has not only prevented my cookies from breaking, but it has also prevented me from wasting too much candy and ending up with lumpy Oreo Pops.
    • For the edges of the cookies I simply rub the candy gently over it to smooth it over, making sure that no cookie is showing and wiping the excess candy back into the bowl.
    • For the surfaces of the cookies I start at the outer edges and lightly rub the candy over the cookie in a circular spiral motion, working my way from the outside into the middle.  Once I get to the middle I gently lift my finger off, leaving just a small bump or curly cue (think Dairy Queen).
  1. As each pop is completed stick it straight up in the styrofoam block to dry, being careful that the newly coated pops do not touch each other.  At this point you can either let them air-dry or (if you’re impatient like me), stick them in the fridge to harden up, again only for about 10 minutes.  Just be sure that the only part that comes in contact with the styrofoam is the stick and never the Oreo Pop itself.  

And that’s it!

IMG_0946

There are different ways to arrange them, and you can either lie them flat on a plate or arrange them in the styrofoam block to your liking.  I personally like to arrange them upright, although I have noticed that people tend to think they are too pretty to eat – so I always make sure to eat one myself during the event or simply start passing them out. Crazy people.

Here are some other ways I’ve arranged and decorated them:

Wrapped and arranged for St. Patrick’s Day…

IMAG1120

…color-coordinated up for my girls’ rainbow birthday party

P1010523

…with little white “reflection lines” for Julia’s bubble birthday party

…and decorated for Halloween!

IMG_3877If you have any questions, please feel free to leave a comment.  These can be a bit tricky at first, but once you get the hang of it you’ll be whipping up batches in no time at all.

Enjoy! 🙂

7 thoughts on “Oreo Pops, Anyone?

  1. Wow… you are So Creative! Love the St. Patty’s Oreos. I think you do such a wonderful job with the girl’s parties (and other events). Love seeing you so creative, warms my heart. Love you, Sweetie!

Tell me what you think, I'd love to hear from you!

