My Love for Tiffany’s

I love Tiffany’s.

I’m sure that this won’t come as a shocker – I am, after all, a female.  But while I may wear a dress and heels on occasion and possess the ability to bear children, I’m actually not that into jewelry.  I typically wear my wedding ring (when it fits), my engagement ring, a necklace, a watch (I only own one), silver hoops (the same ones every day) and a bracelet.  All that to say that going into a jewelry store would never be something I’d want to do.  I’m more likely to be found going into a home store than a place that sells just jewelry.

I discovered Tiffany & Co. through one of my all-time favorite movies – Breakfast at Tiffany’s.  Big surprise.  I love that movie, and even sung “Moon River” to Sugarbear as an infant every night.  One of my favorite lines in the whole movie is when Holly Golightly is talking about getting the Mean Reds and says: “Well, when I get them the only thing that does any good is to jump in a cab and go to Tiffany’s. Calms me down right away. The quietness and the proud look of it; nothing very bad could happen to you there. If I could find a real-life place that’d make me feel like Tiffany’s, then – then I’d buy some furniture and give the cat a name!” 

In 2010 Jay & I had a weekend getaway to New York City – the first vist for both of us.  I had to stop at Tiffany’s.  And you know what?  Ms. Golightly was right.  It really felt like nothing bad could ever happen to you in a place like that.  We explored the whole store, and my sweet hubby told me that I could pick something out.  I looked, and fell in love with a few things, but alas, not only am I not that into jewelry, I’m also too cheap to spend money on something like that.  I’d much rather spend the same amount on new bedding for my bedroom or paint for the dining room.  Besides, I was completely giddy just BEING there!  So, we left – without any goodies except for this photo:

60170_1405469228756_2492600_n

We left NYC and came home, and I had zero regrets about not buying anything there.  Then in 2011 one of my best Momma friends and I took a weekend trip to NYC.  Our husbands are the best, and were sweet enough to watch the kiddos so that we could escape parental responsibility for a few days.  And again, Jay told me to stop in Tiffany’s and get myself something.  And again, I walked through the store, again I looked around, and again I walked out empty-handed.  And yes, I was even giddy again.  I love that place.

For a short while after that it seemed as though Tiffany’s was everywhere I looked.  My church has an annual Ladies Ornament Exchange, and table hostesses are asked to decorate their own table however they like.  My favorite table was this one:

156785_10150100184036518_5223063_n

Tablescape created by Heather (Do you see why it’s my favorite?)

I also became a Pinterest addict after that last trip to NYC, and it seemed as though that beautiful robin’s egg blue was everywhere.  So I did what any dreamer would do and I created a board to pin everything I came across in that color, no matter how ridiculous (feel free to check out My Tiffany Blue Heaven).  Please don’t judge.

In June of 2012 Jay & I celebrated our 10-year anniversary.  Yay!  I knew he’d thought of something special, and a few days before our celebratory Date Night he told me: we were going to Tiffany’s!  No, we didn’t go all the way back to NYC, there’s actually one not too far from where we live, but it’s nowhere near as magical as the one in NYC that Ms. Golightly went to rid herself of the Mean Reds.  Jay told me that this time I was not going to leave empty-handed, and since this was a special occasion I decided I would let him spoil me a bit.  I mean, every anniversary is special, but 10 years is pretty amazing!

_MG_3965

Wearing my necklace from Tiffany’s!  Photo by Linda Benedict Photography

I love this man so much.  We just celebrated our 11th anniversary this year!  He took me to Toronto.  And looky what I found there…

1000071_4898946603507_1430968921_n

Hee hee… We didn’t even go into this one – and yes, I’m aware that my pants match the building.  I told you, I love this color!  Jay’s already promised to buy me another goody at Tiffany’s for our 20th anniversary.  Only 9 more years to go – I’m so excited!

6 thoughts on “My Love for Tiffany’s

  1. Jay says:

    And I love this woman so much! It’s hard to believe it has been 11 years sometimes, because it has gone by so fast and been so much fun!

  2. purpleprincess24 says:

    I love this post! I love that you got to go yo NYC and see the real Tiffany’s. love you Sweetie. ❤

Tell me what you think, I'd love to hear from you!

