Easy Crock Pot Chili

This is one of my family’s favorite recipes (and by family I mean Jay & me… my beauties aren’t quite on board yet).  Even my mom, who isn’t a big fan of chili, loves the way this turns out!

ChiliI’m not much of a cook, but I thought I’d give this a shot.  It turned out excellent from the first time I made it, and over the years I’ve tweaked it a bit and made it my own.  Be warned – we love our garlic in this house!

Screen Shot 2013-08-05 at 8.00.28 PM

You will need:

  • 2 pounds ground beef
  • 1 small onion, chopped (about 3/4 cup)
  • 4-5 cloves of garlic, finely chopped
  • 1 can (28 ounces) diced tomatoes (undrained)
  • 1 can (15 ounces) tomato sauce     *I usually get a tomoato sauce that has basil & oregano mixed in
  • 2 tablespoons chili powder
  • 2 tablespoons cocoa powder (unsweetened)
  • 1 tablespoon garlic powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons dried cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 can (15 ounces) red kidney beans (they will be rinsed and drained)
  1. Cook the beef in a 12-in skillet on the stove until browned, stirring occasionally.  Drain meat and place in crockpot.
  2. Add all other ingredients except for the beans.
  3. Cover and cook on low heat for 6-8 hours, or on high heat for 3-4 hours.
  4. Add the rinsed & drained beans to the crockpot, stirring them in with the other ingredients.  Cook on high heat for 15-20 more minutes.

Screen Shot 2013-08-05 at 7.58.50 PM

We love to add crackers, scallions, and loads of extra sharp cheddar cheese to our bowls. Soooo yummy!

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Easy Crock Pot Chili

Tell me what you think, I'd love to hear from you!

