Summer Goals Revisited

At the beginning of the summer I sat down and created a list of goals for myself.  Now that summer is over (school started last week), I thought it would be a good idea to see how I did. Plus it’s always fun to cross things off.  To be quite honest I didn’t really give the list too much thought over the past few months – we were just way too busy!  I’m going to look at it now for the first time and give myself some honest answers as to how I did.

  • Give the beauties bedroom makeovers.

I got started on this project the very first day of Summer Break.  For the most part their rooms were completed within the first week, but I’ve held off posting pictures since I’m still not 100% done yet.  I won’t cross this one off yet I guess, but I’m definitely eager to!

  • Sell the baby items around the house.

I’ve actually done pretty well on this one thanks to selling things on Craigslist!  So far I’ve gotten rid of the Pack N’ Play, high chair, 11 pairs of shoes, and a ton of toys. I’ve still got a whole bunch of things that need to go: more toys… more clothes… more random baby things I’m still finding in the girls’ closets.  It’s all gotta go!

Screen Shot 2013-08-01 at 12.30.14 PM

  • Introduce Julia to new foods.

I’m crossing this one off on the basis of semantics.  I definitely introduced her to new foods: hot dogs, pizza, watermelon, almonds, coconut, carrot chips, quesadillas, and strawberries (she used to only eat them freeze-dried).  Those are the only ones I can remember off the top of my head.  Did she like any of them?  Some yes, some no.  But I did introduce them, so it counts.

  • Enforce Project Time-Out.

This one is still in progress.  We definitely started the process, but once again the lack of a daily routine made for a very rock-solid wall.  Julia is aware of what it means to be in timeout, and I’m eager to spend more one-on-one time with her so I can take more advantage of opportunities to “practice” them.  I even made her a little time out chair!  Is it wrong to be excited to move forward on this one?

IMG_2703

  • Run 4 times a week, hopefully logging in 8-10 miles a week.

Sadly, this did not happen.  I tried, I really did!  But it took me more than half the summer to get the tired on the jogging stroller fixed, and between the weather, installing hurricane windows, and all of our travels it just wasn’t meant to be.  I ran whenever I could, and while on vacation at my parents’ house I ran 14 miles over the course of 5 days.  I’m really hoping now that Sugarbear started school I’ll be able to keep up with a good running routine that takes advantage of dry mornings, a repaired stroller, and fewer heat-induced headaches.

  • GET RID OF THE PACI.

This one is done!  I’m happy to say that Julieboo ditched her paci the day before she turned a year old.  And she’s done just fine without one!

photo-1

  • Start feeding Julia at the table.

Also done!  The high chair was one of the items I recently sold, and although I miss it (it made fixing her hair much easier) I really love having Julieboo at the table with us.  A friend of mine gave us a really great chair booster.  Instead of a seat for the child to sit in the booster goes underneath the legs of the chair, raising it up so that it sits higher net to the table.  She had a little trouble getting up and down the chair at first, but once she figured it out she loves it! We’ve even managed to squeeze in a few family meals in between Jay’s travels, and I gotta say that having both of our beauties at the table really makes us feel more like a family.

photo

  • Teach Emily to ride her bike.

Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to make this happen.  I’m going to go ahead and blame our busy summer again.  And the weather. She’s almost 100% there – she can start off on her own and once she gets going she’s pretty steady.  But when it comes to stopping she’s a little shaky. So we’re still working on it.  I think part of the problem is that she’s outgrowing her bike, so I’m thinking there might be a new bike under the Christmas tree for her this year.  If she’s not fully riding by then, I’m sure that will motivate her!

photo

So that’s it!  4 of the 8 are totally completed, and 3 of them are in the works.  I’m pretty happy with the way our summer went – and considering I didn’t consciously give this list much thought I think I did pretty well!

One thought on “Summer Goals Revisited

Tell me what you think, I'd love to hear from you!

