Rainbow Party!

Screen Shot 2013-08-27 at 9.15.34 PM

Our beauties are 8 days shy of being exactly 5 years apart.  Everyone always tells me how lucky I am that I can get away with only throwing one party, and I was completely against it.  I believed (and still do) that each of my daughters is special and deserves her own celebration. But when it came time to throw Julieboo’s first birthday party last year, I was a little overwhelmed at the thought of throwing two separate birthday parties.  So I suggested to Emily that maybe we could celebrate their birthdays together in one big party, and she LOVED the idea!

I wish I had taken more photos of the things I made for the party, but I’ll share what I have!

First, the Birthday Beauties:

Screen Shot 2013-08-27 at 9.21.08 PM

Aren’t they just gorgeous?

I didn’t think to take pictures of them, but the invitations I had looked like this one.  I also made the girls each a birthday banner like this one, I just left off the insects.

For table decorations I had saved every formula can from the past 4 months and wrapped them with some rainbow paper I’d purchased from an Etsy shop.  I stuffed the inside of each can with styrofoam and glued cotton balls on top.  I put different colored balloons and rainbow swirled lollipops into the styrofoam of each can.  Unfortunately, this is the best picture I have:

Screen Shot 2013-08-27 at 9.41.55 PM

Onto the food!

IMG_4117

I made Oreo Pops – yummers!  To continue the rainbow theme I bought bags of gumballs from Target and layered them by color to use as table decor.  I also bought Twizzlers in rainbow colors and stood them up in jars on the table for some extra color.

IMG_4124

All of the food and beverages had rainbow-themed labels.  It was fun thinking up all the different ways to describe them!  My sweet hubby made the “Prismatic Produce” fruit platter.  Not bad, huh?

P1010526

I made a batch of from-the-box brownies with rainbow sprinkles mixed into the batter, as well as rainbow chocolate chip cookies created with food coloring.  I followed the recipe on this fabulous blog – so easy!

P1010528

P1010525

These “Kaleidoscopic Krispies” were the most time-consuming thing make – but WOW!  They really packed a punch in the visual department – I was really impressed with how they turned out!  You can check out the recipe here.

P1010524

Beverages were fun, I just borrowed some coolers from a friend and taped the labels onto the wall above them.  They are kind of hard to read here, but I had “Psychedelic Sodas,” “Jazzy Juice Pouches,” and “Wondrous Water.”  I think I spelled wondrous wrong on the label now that I’m looking at it… oops.  Thanks to everyone for not pointing it out – I mean it!

IMG_4115

Now, the cake table.  I made one 2-layer cake and put each layer on a separate tray, frosted them, and covered them with rainbow sprinkles.  I found the rainbow candles in between them at Target.  The cupcakes were for the guests, since one of the cake layers was Julia’s smash cake and the other layer was so that Emily could have her own un-smashed cake to enjoy.

P1010529

The best part about the cake layers?  The insides were “rainbowed” too!  I found this great idea here and thought it would be so much fun to see an explosion of color once Julia started smashing up her cake!  I didn’t think to take a picture before I frosted it though (boo), so this is all that was left after someone ate all the yellow.

P1010577

I think the girls loved them!

Screen Shot 2013-08-27 at 10.28.38 PM

I had our local grocery store make up cupcakes with light blue frosting, then my sweet parents and I decorated the tops of them ourselves.  We used white icing and rainbow sour belts.

Screen Shot 2012-06-23 at 9.29.35 PM

Probably my favorite part of the whole party was when our girls’ babysitters sang “Somewhere Over the Rainbow” to them.  I was seriously in tears.  One of the sweetest gifts they received, no doubt.

IMG_4142

At the end of the party I gave everyone these as party favors.  Of course, I didn’t think to take a picture of them myself.  Is it obvious that this party took a lot out of me?  I forgot to mention that this party was originally planned to be held at a local park – we had rented a pavillion, a bounce house, and a snowcone machine (which actually came free with the bounce house rental). That morning it decided to rain, and we had to rethink everything very quickly and hold it in our way-too-small-for-this-many-people house.

IMG_4154

In the end it was by FAR the most themed party I’ve ever thrown.  I had a ton of fun creating, baking, and decorating everything. A rainbow party was the perfect theme for two little girls, even though they are 5 years apart.  Emily even said that the rain helped the party be more perfect… too bad we never thought to see if a real rainbow had appeared!

PS – If you want more rainbow party ideas, you can check out my Rainbow Party Pinterest board here – I pinned everything I saw!

6 thoughts on “Rainbow Party!

Tell me what you think, I'd love to hear from you!

