Homemade Fruit Leather Strips

I’m not exactly the home-grown anti-processed organic type, but it’s been really difficult to get Julia to try new foods.  She will typically snub anything put in front of her unless it’s junk.  She’s got an amazing junk food radar!  I found this great recipe here. Although these fruit strips do have a bit of sugar in them, they also have real fruit as well and are definitely an improvement over the store-bought rollups when it comes to artificial ingredients and preservatives.  Again – NOT something I worry about on a day-to-day basis, but it’s still nice when food doesn’t have them.

Screen Shot 2013-09-03 at 8.35.40 PM

Ingredients:

  • 8oz of your choice of berries (I’ve used raspberries, blueberries, and strawberries to create 3 different flavored strips)
  • 3 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • Parchment paper

IMG_2948

Wash your berries, cutting off the tops and/or stems as needed.  Blend until no chunks are left.

IMG_2950

Cook the blended berries (raspberries are pictured here), along with the sugar and lemon juice on medium heat for 10-15 minutes or until the mixture has thickened.

IMG_2951

Blueberry mixture – this one didn’t thicken very well for a while, but turned almost black very quickly when it was done.

IMG_2955

Spread the thickened mixture out into a rectangular shape on the parchment paper.  Bake at 170 degrees for 3 hours.

IMG_2958

This is what it looks like once it’s been fully dehydrated.

IMG_2968

I’ve seen some people use a pizza roller to cut them, but I wasn’t successful at that method, so I prefer to use shears.  Cut the baked fruit into strips as desired.

IMG_2972

I can get about eight 2-inch wide strips from one batch.  (Although the blueberry strips only yielded about 4-5 strips).

IMG_2973

Start at one end of the strip and roll tightly.

IMG_2974

Jay & the girls LOVE these!  Emily loves the strawberry best, and Jay prefers the blueberry.  I think next time I’m going to mix the berries in the blender to create mixed berry strips.  Gotta live it up, you know?

4 thoughts on “Homemade Fruit Leather Strips

  1. Wow… look at you go! I kinda wondered when you get to these, you’re never afraid of trying new things and this is a great way to have some whole food around. I’ll have to try making some myself. 🙂

Tell me what you think, I'd love to hear from you!

