Homemade Java Chip Frappuccino

I love Starbucks, but I only drink one thing there – a Java Chip Frappuccino.  Yummy.  It comes in as a close second to my beloved frozen coke.

We don’t have pockets deep enough to support my Java Chip habit though, so whenever I’m jonesing for one my sweet hubby makes the most A-MA-ZING copy of a Starbucks Java Chip for me.

Here’s his recipe:

Ingredients

  • Espresso (he uses Livanto from Nespresso)
  • 1 cup skim milk
  • Ice
  • Dark chocolate syrup
  • 2 tbsp dark chocolate chips

First, make your espresso.  My hubby’s trick is to put it right in the fridge after he makes it so that the hot espresso doesn’t melt all the ice in the frappuccino.

IMG_2216

After the frappuccino has chilled, it’s time to start blending!  Add 1 cup skip milk and the frap to the blender.

IMG_2218

IMG_2220

Add enough ice to the mix so that the liquid just covers the top.

IMG_2221

Add the 2 tbsp dark chocolate chips.  And eat whatever chips don’t make it in.

IMG_2223

Give one good-sized squeeze of dark chocolate syrup across the top.

IMG_2224

Blend on a high setting (we use 3 on the Ninja) for 1 minute.

IMG_2226

Serve it up in a Starbucks cup for authenticity.

IMG_2231

Now, nothing beats the real thing, but this comes pretty close.  And it’s enough for 2 people – enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Homemade Java Chip Frappuccino

Tell me what you think, I'd love to hear from you!

