A Pumpkin, a Toddler, and Stickers – Oh My!

Like just about everyone I know, I love Fall.  I’m sure most people love autumn because they’ve actually seen a real autumn, but for me it’s always been about Thanksgiving.  And my birthday.  But mostly Thanksgiving.  The day I finally let myself eat turkey.  Mmmmmm.

My favorite thing about the season (aside from a cinnamon broom) is decorating pumpkins. Usually that means scooping all those wonderfully goopy pumpkin guts, but when we’ve wanted our beauties to be involved in the festivities we’ve skipped using a knife and instead tried to find other ways to allow the girls to have some decorating fun.

Some of our previous non-carving adventures include the Pumpkin Head Princess Emily made when she was 2…

Halloween 2008 015

…tissue paper circles and Mod Podge…

DSC_1282

…and painting them.  The Angry Bird is Jay’s handiwork.

169448_3820963614606_1781599378_o (1)This time I decided to use one of Julia’s favorite mediums ever – stickers.  I found some cute bags of Halloween-themed foam stickers in the dollar bin at Target, grabbed a pumpkin, and let Julia have at it!

IMG_3265

She had the best time!  I was peeling off the backs of the stickers for her, but at some point I realized that she was doing that herself, so I found another way to keep myself busy by poking all the little eyes and mouths out of the ghosts and jack-o-lanterns. Seriously, could she be any more adorable?

IMG_3266

I think it turned out really cute, and we only used up about half the bag of stickers, which means there are enough for another fun activity another day!

IMG_3269

And here it is again keeping my fabulous cinnamon broom company at the bottom of the stairs.

IMG_3270By some miracle Julia hasn’t pulled any of the stickers off, her next favorite thing to do after putting them on.  I’ve since moved it up to the window, and I love seeing it when I pull into the driveway.  Next it’s my turn to decorate one – I can’t wait to head to the pumpkin patch and choose my victim for carving!

6 thoughts on “A Pumpkin, a Toddler, and Stickers – Oh My!

  1. Anonymous says:

    HAH! I ought to put an eagle on top, and an anchor through one. A Pumpkin Marine Corps emblem! That would be cool!
    Papa Bear

Tell me what you think, I'd love to hear from you!

