What Doggies Doo

We always seem to have one on our cul-de-sac.  That dog owner who opens their door, lets their dog wander around everyone’s front yard, then calls the dog back into the house after it has finished “anointing” a yard with something nasty.

Unfortunately, we have found the remains of many a dog visit in our front yard.  Did I mention we don’t have a dog?

The first neighbor who allowed this to happen pushed us too far.  After stepping in dog poo for the 4th time, I started waking up early to catch the pooch in the act.  At first I chased the dog away before it got too far as the owner insisted the dog had “escaped.”  The second time I waited until the dog did its business then went and spoke to my neighbor.  After suddenly pretending she didn’t speak English she finally came back and cleaned it up.  But when Jay found more in the yard the next morning, he did something so out of character that it made me fall more in love with him than ever.  He put the doggie’s poo in a plastic bag, walked it over to the neighbor’s, and left it beside her front door.  We never found another present in our yard again.

Until a few days ago, when Julia almost fell face-first into a still-steamy pile in our front yard. And once again, I know the culprit.  A cute little black-and-white Cocker Spaniel, whose owner does exactly what the other neighbor used to do.  Except she doesn’t bother to call the dog back but instead leaves the front door crack a tad so the dog can get back in whenever it feels ready.  Unfortunately, this neighbor has a reputation for being quite violent verbally, and having witnessed it I have no intention of speaking to her about her dog.  Call me chicken, but maybe I’m just hoping things will go down like last time – a silent, smelly gift left on the doormat.

Let me be clear about something: both of these canine offenders have fenced-in backyards. The owners could just as easily open their BACK doors and let their dogs out, but they don’t.

Because they don’t want dog poo in their yard.

Ridiculous.

Yesterday I was painting a fence in our backyard when I heard Julia screaming.  Emily runs up and tells me that Julia has some “funny green slimy stuff” on her feet, and I instantly and instinctively knew it was dog poo.  Now, our backyard doesn’t have a fence as it sits along a canal (most of the houses in our community that face the canal do not have a backyard fence), so this tends to happen from time to time.  If it were down near the water, that would be one thing.  This was right outside the porch door.  Unavoidable.

I have fortunately not seen any more doggie doo since the backyard incident, but I’m aware that the odds are not in my favor. I’m not sure what’s going to happen the next time I find poo in my yard.  I know I’d like to handle myself with dignity and class. It’s more likely that I’m going to lose my mind.

Please pray for me.

8 thoughts on “What Doggies Doo

  1. Sanne Williamson says:

    Ugh, the worst!! Our neighbors’ dog does it too and I hate it! Luckily they’re really nice and the boys point it out to them any chance they get and then they clean it up. Haha!!

  2. I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you make this website yourself
    or did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz respond
    as I’m looking to create my own blog and would like to find
    out where u got this from. kudos

Tell me what you think, I'd love to hear from you!

