This is WAR

I have had it.  I’ve reached my limit.  I can’t take it anymore.  If I find ONE MORE tiny hole on one of my shirts I think I will officially turn into someone I’m not proud of.  I’m already on the verge of swearing every time I see one – definitely a sign that things need to change.

I’ve been finding tiny pencil-point sized holes in the front of my favorite shirts, right about where my bellybutton is.  The holes would be virtually unnoticeable – or even ignorable – if they were almost anywhere else on the shirt.  But they are right in the front.  There is really no way to sew the holes up, and patches won’t really work either.

Some of the holes have appeared on shirts that I’ve had and loved for years, but I’ve recently noticed them popping up on shirts I’ve only worn once or twice.  I can still wear them around the house, but it depresses me to know that they are no longer suitable for my attempts at looking pulled together, thereby making the shirts pretty much unwearable.


Screen Shot 2013-12-18 at 2.56.01 PM

So I’m declaring war.  WAR!  I’m ready to fight whatever it is that is causing these tiny menaces on my clothing.

I’ve done some research, and for good or bad I’m not alone with this issue.  It turns out there are a great deal of people out there with this problem – although for all my fellow sufferers no one seems to have discovered the cause.

Here are some popular theories I’ve come across and my thoughts on them:

  • Belts rubbing on the shirts – Definitely a possibility, although some of the holes have appeared on flowy shirts too, not just the ones that are more snug.
  • Moths – This one came up so much that even though I’ve never seen a moth in the house I double-checked.  But between the lack of bugs found, the fact that we have someone come spray for bugs every other month, and the consistency of the location of the holes I’m ruling this one out.
  • The seatbelt – The most likely culprit, especially since the holes seem to have increased since we bought my current vehicle a year ago.
  • Bellybutton acids – Some people apparently have stuff oozing from their bellybuttons, and they believe it eats away at the clothing.  I don’t have this condition.  Or belly button mites, another icky suggestion I’ve stumbled upon.
  • Rubbing on counters – another possibility, since I am always leaning up on our kitchen counters, they fall at my bellybutton height where the holes are, and our counter edges are straight-edged.
  • My pants are too small – I guess this could be a factor, although the fact that I need a belt makes me think this isn’t the case.
  • Washing machine – I do not wash anything with zippers or buttons with my shirts.  But, like the moths, it seems unlikely that the problem would consistently happen in the same place anyway.

Again, no one seems to be able to agree on the problem.  For me, I think it’s one of three things: my seatbelt, the counters in the kitchen, and my belt.

Screen Shot 2013-12-18 at 2.57.24 PM

So I have a plan of attack.  It’s pretty basic, kinda no-duh, actually, but here it is.  I’m going to stop bucking my seatbelt over my shirts, stop leaning on the counters, and find a buckle-less belt.  Yes, the last one might make me feel like a toddler (since those are the belts I buy for her when she needs them), but I don’t have a choice.  My conflicting love for both running and McDonald’s means that my weight fluctuates within one clothing size – I don’t gain enough to wear larger pants but I don’t lose enough to drop a size.  I’m okay with that, I just have to find a belt that won’t potentially poke holes in my shirts.

I’m going to put my plan in place and hopefully I’ll see a change in the next few months.  If not, I’ll be calling the Heloise Helpline and begging her to give me advice.  Until then I’m saving the holey shirts for something crafty.  Since I tend to favor certain colors and the backs are hole-free I’m thinking they might have a future after all – maybe as a quilt or photo mats.  I just can’t say goodbye to them yet!

3 thoughts on “This is WAR

  1. Stephanie Doolittle says:

    PLEASE let me know when you figure this one out!! It drives me crazy that I’m always finding these little holes in my shirts. They are always right where you described them (at the bellybutton). I don’t wear belts, but I do wear my seat belt…hmm, maybe?

Tell me what you think, I'd love to hear from you!

