Homemade Caramel Popcorn

Screen Shot 2013-12-21 at 10.53.27 PMThis is probably my all-time favorite homemade snack.  Seriously, it’s almost impossible to stop eating once you start.  I love to make it around the holidays, since it fits so nicely into those little treat bags you can pick up for a dollar or two.  This recipe makes enough to fill about 8 treat bags.

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 15 cups popped popcorn (about 3 popped bags – I use the plainest variety I can find – no butter, no salt)
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 butter or stick margarine
  • 1/4 cup light corn syrup (I like Karo)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda

Preheat oven to 200 degrees.

Heat brown sugar, butter, corn syrup, and salt in a saucepan over medium heat, stirring occasionally.

Once bubbly, continue cooking for about 5 minutes without stirring.

Remove from heat and add baking soda until foamy

IMG_4628 Spread out popcorn into 2 glass rectangular pans, 13 x 9 x 2 inches.  I do not have two of these, so I improvise with other sized glass baking pans.

IMG_4629

Pour heated caramel mixture evenly over popcorn and toss gently.

Bake for 1 hour, tossing popcorn every 15 minutes to spread the caramel mixture around.

Spread over waxed paper or parchment paper to cool for about 30 minutes.

IMG_4631

Enjoy!  And don’t say I didn’t warn you!

IMG_4632

2 thoughts on “Homemade Caramel Popcorn

Tell me what you think, I'd love to hear from you!

