My Happy Place

Earlier this year Jay took a new job – a total blessing, since it not only gave us the peace of mind that comes along with job security (which we’d been without the previous 12 years of our marriage), but it also enabled me to become a stay-at-home mom again. Trying to juggle a full workload as a teacher, both of the girls’ school schedules and events, and potential illnesses that always seem to occur at the worst possible times would be much easier on everyone if I returned to the homefront full-time.  I was more than happy to oblige.

But there’s another silver lining… one that comes in a blue box with a white bow.

IMG_4997

Oh yes – I still can’t believe it – I got to go to Tiffany’s again!  And 8 years sooner than I expected!

And boy oh boy, gosh golly gee – I was in heaven.

Jay travels almost every week, sometimes taking multiple flights within each week.  As a result, he racks up points or credits, which in turn earn him perks.  Usually it’s just a bump up to first class or the ability to change his flight without financial penalty (a particular blessing the morning his alarm didn’t go off and he missed his flight).  But his most recent status upgrade gave him the best perk ever – a gift card to Tiffany’s.  Jay also decided to cash in some of our credit card points for another Tiffany’s gift card.  Merry Christmas to me!

IMG_4993

I am not materialistic.  I am not a name-brand lover.  I am not above knockoffs.  I hate paying full price for anything.  I actually don’t enjoy advertising for other companies at all – you won’t find any clothing with brand logos across the front in my closet.  I do love Coach purses, but that’s only happened within the last few years (after Jay convinced me that buying 3-4 poor-quality $20 purses a year didn’t make any sense). And even then, I only buy Coach products at their factory outlet store.  So being able to walk into my absolute favorite store with what I consider “free money” in my pocket is a dream come true.

IMG_5001

I’m ridiculously (and perhaps embarrassingly) giddy when I walk into Tiffany & Co.  I’m like my dad in a hobby shop, my mom in a scrapbook store, or Jay at an auto dealership. Something happens to me when I’m in Tiffany’s.  I lose all sense of time, and even forget Jay is with me every few minutes.  I love to look.  I love to drool.  I love to imagine myself on a Tiffany blue sofa just sitting in there all day drinking frozen cokes through a silver straw and tying white ribbons in my hair.  It’s just so dreamy.

IMG_4998

It’s possible I may have compared the joy I feel in Tiffany’s to the joy I felt when my beauties were born.  But I’ll never admit to it.  I know it’s silly, and I know it’s shallow.  But I also know women who drool over the newest Kate Spade or Tory Burch or Michael Kors products.  I’m not judging – clearly I have no room for that – but I can definitely relate.  Those brands may not hold any interest for me, but this is my vice.  My Achille’s Heel.  My claim to shame.  Except I’m not ashamed.  Just check out Julia’s Halloween costume.

I love Tiffany & Co.  I won’t apologize for it.  Perhaps I was duped as a child into thinking that it was a wonderful place after watching Holly Golightly come alive every time she mentioned it. Perhaps I’m a victim of advertising at its very best.  I don’t care.  Whether I purchase anything or not, I leave with a smile on my face.  And when I am blessed enough to leave with that beautiful blue bag, whatever is inside is a constant reminder of how special I am to my husband, even though he can’t be with me all the time.

IMG_4995

9 thoughts on “My Happy Place

  1. Sanne Williamson says:

    This totally made me smile. I’m so happy for you! I love that we got to go to the one in NYC 2 years ago!!
    Can’t wait to see what you picked out! XO

  2. purpleprincess24 says:

    Yippee! You got to go! How fun… and no apologies needed. Quality speaks for itself. Can’t wait to see your Tiffany Treasure! ❤

Tell me what you think, I'd love to hear from you!

