I’m a Glutton

I had 98 cases of Girl Scout cookies in my dining room earlier this week.  I’m sure the people closest to me are tired of hearing me say that, but 98 cases.  That’s a LOT of cookies.  12 boxes per case.  That’s 1,176 boxes of Girl Scout cookies in my house.

IMG_5293

I know for some people, this would be an impossible task.  The fear of eating all 1,176 boxes would be too great.  I personally love the Samoas and Thin Mints, and each year we get just one box of each.  Although I do think this year it will be much harder than usual to stick to one box of Thin Mints.  What’s that?  You say a whole case is missing?  Hmmmm….

IMG_5298

But that’s not the kind of gluttony I’m referring to, especially since Girl Scout cookies aren’t my weakness (*cough* McDonald’s *cough*).  I’m a glutton for punishment.  The Free Dictionary defines a glutton for punishment as: “someone who is eager for a burden or some sort of difficulty; someone willing to accept a difficult task.”  Yeah, that would be me.

Those 98 cases of Girl Scout cookies in my dining room?  Well, I volunteered to be Cookie Mom for my daughter’s Brownie troop this year.  I knew it would be a lot of work, but I truly had no idea just how much work.  Or how time-consuming.  Our last troop’s Cookie Mom was the troop leader – and a working mom.  And she insisted we all sell 150 boxes each.  I have no idea how she managed it all – I’m already fine if everyone wants to stop when they hit this troop’s goal of 50 boxes each!  At least Emily got a really cool patch, even if I botch everything up or lose all our money…

IMG_5320

As crazy as it’s already been, I don’t regret it for a second.  I enjoy volunteering for projects.  I like to help.  I like to be needed.  I like to know that people see me as dependable, capable, and willing.  It makes me happy to have a way to show my support for others.  So I say yes to darn near everything.  I convince myself that I can do it and I dive in 100%.  And yes, I breathe a huge sigh of relief when it’s over.  Then I volunteer for something else.

IMG_5319

To be honest, I find these projects to be loads of fun, especially if I get to organize something. Sorting out 98 cases of cookies gave me jollies like you wouldn’t believe.  I had so much fun pulling out everyone’s pre-orders, labeling boxes, creating spreadsheets, and sending emails.  And honestly, about half that stuff isn’t even necessary for the sale to be successful; I just do it because being organized makes me happy.  I like to keep the jollies coming.  Plus I don’t know any other way to function.  My mom says I’m strange.

IMG_5310

So, I’m going to wear my title proud.  Hi, my name is Susie and I’m a glutton for punishment. I’m actually quite happy this way.  Now, time to go find something to work on… and maybe eat a few Thin Mints while I’m at it.

One thought on “I’m a Glutton

Tell me what you think, I'd love to hear from you!

