Sign Me Up!

Jay and I are starting to think that we are going to need a new line in our budget for my running events.   I think in the back of my mind I always knew that I could get hooked on them, there’s just a special energy in the air when you are at a running/walking event like a 5K.  You’re a part of something big – something that hundreds of other people all chose to be a part of, maybe even trained for or raised money for.  And everyone there has the same goal: to cross that finish line.

I’ve actually walked quite a few 5K events.  In high school I participated in one with my fellow National Honors Society peeps.  My brother and I also represented Petsmart (where I was employed at the time) and completed the Humane Society 5K.  And a few years ago I joined my friend Christine at a 5K fundraiser event for Sheridan House, an organization that cares for middle-school aged boys and girls with behavioral issues.  It was at this 5K that I realized walking wasn’t enough for me – I wanted to run that bad boy. That last 5K was the fuel I needed lit under my tushie, motivating me to become an avid runner.  Last October I ran the Happy Haunted 5K at Disney with my best friend Sanne for my first official 3.1.  It was a total blast, but just as I had predicted, I was hooked.

5K Halloween Disney

I am currently registered for 3 different running events this month.  THREE!  Plus another in May!  And I am mega excited about each of them, although for very different reasons.

Here’s what I’ll be tackling over the next few months:

Sheridan House Family Values 5K

Screen Shot 2014-02-05 at 3.08.04 PM I am finally getting a chance to return to the 5K that inspired me to run in the first place!  I didn’t think I’d be able to run it when I signed up, since I was supposed to have Julia with me, and there will be walkers, runners, and kids on bikes and scooters, all making it difficult to navigate a running stroller.  But now Jay is able to join us, so he’ll be walking with the girls, freeing me up to run!  And this year they are going to have timing chips in the bibs (the Disney 5K was just a “fun run,” no times were recorded), so I’ll finally have an official 5K time!

Publix Half-Marathon

Screen Shot 2014-02-05 at 3.12.14 PM I’m still trying to figure out how my friend Erin convinced me to do this with her, especially since my legs are currently killing me from just a 3-mile run I did yesterday, but now it’s only just over a week away.  Eek!  I’ve been training for the past month, slowly increasing my distance each week.  I’m praying the energy in the air will pump me up enough to run the whole thing, something I wasn’t sure I’d ever be able to do.  But despite the pain of training, I am thrilled that I’m finally going to get one of those 13.1 stickers on my car!

Disney’s Royal Family 5K

1003202_10201320211319289_1679232578_n

I think I am the most excited about this one, and I’m not even going to run it.  My mom is going to join me for this one, and we are going to walk the course together.  I am so incredibly proud of her for working hard to get ready for this event, and I feel so blessed that I’m going to share this with her.  We’ve even got matching Minnie Mouse shirts planned!

The Color Run

Screen Shot 2014-02-05 at 3.19.45 PM This one is actually a few months away, and I hadn’t fully made up my mind if I wanted to do it or not.  I happened to mention it to Emily, and she was super excited, so we registered and are going to do it together!  We’ve managed to get a bunch of ladies from our church to join us too, so it will most likely be another walk/run event, but since it will be so hot I don’t think that’s a problem – I might even be able to avoid a headache.

I love how each of these events has motivated me in different ways – some to increase distance, some to increase speed, some to help me slow down and enjoy my company and surroundings.  I’m definitely planning to continue adding these events to my running resume… I’ve got my eye on a mud run too!

2 thoughts on “Sign Me Up!

  1. Sanne Williamson says:

    You go girl!!!! Can’t wait for us to do another Disney 5K together again sometime!! Hopefully sometime this year?! 😊👍

Tell me what you think, I'd love to hear from you!

