5K Freedom

This morning I completed my second 5K run!

1779317_10152277788321518_1420704578_n

My church works alongside Sheridan House Family Ministries, an organization that cares for middle-school aged boys and girls with behavioral issues. They hold this 5K every year (this was their 6th event) as a fundraiser for their ministry.  I walked it a few years ago with a friend, which was where I was first inspired to start running.  My friend Erin and I helped to coordinate and organize a team of participants from our church – and we ended up with 56, earning our church a special award (and motivating us to encourage more participation next year)!  The event itself was free, although most people made a donation to Sheridan House to show their support.

Screen Shot 2014-02-08 at 1.24.33 PM

There were a couple of things I was particularly looking forward to with this 5K (along with seeing all the fabulous supporters from our church):

  • This was a timed run – there was a chip on the back of each bib that would log the time it took to complete the 3.1 miles.  The 5K I ran at Disney was a “fun run,” meaning that times weren’t being recorded, so I was excited to have an official time logged.
  • I didn’t sign up to do this run with anyone in particular.  Sure, there was a great turnout of friends from our church, and two of them are the lovely ladies I run with almost every week, but everyone registered with their families or individually.

Every run I’ve got coming up and the 5K I did back in October was with someone specific. Someone has agreed to complete the course with me, and we’ve planned together… trained together… challenged each other….  But this time, that just wasn’t the case.  There were no pre-arrangements.  No promises made to cross the finish line together.  No plans to celebrate afterward.  I realized on the way to the event that I was, in a way, free.  Since Jay sweetly offered to walk with the girls I was free!  Free to set my own pace, to listen to music, to just run.

IMG_5456

I set what I later learned was a bit optimistic of a goal – I wanted to complete the 5K in 27 minutes.  Then I could say I ran a 9-minute mile, making me a runner and not a jogger.  I also kinda figured that since I do a 3-mile run twice a week with Julia in a jogging stroller it shouldn’t be too hard to meet this goal.  That thinking was dumb, dumb, dumb.  I pushed myself a bit too hard, and while I enjoyed my liberation, I realized that perhaps I should have just enjoyed a nice run with my friends.  It was hot, much hotter than it has been for any of the runs I’ve taken over the past few months.  My head still hurts.  I finished in 31.13, but afterward I thought I was going to barf all over the place.  Once I sat for a bit I was fine, but it did freak me out a little bit.

I’ve got the half marathon coming up a week from tomorrow.  While I’m thankful that it starts earlier, I feel more wiped from this 3.1-mile run than I have after my longer stretches.  Erin and I are planning a long run together tomorrow evening so that we can feel out our pace and get to know each others’ running rhythm. Whenever we get to run together we’ve got our cutie-pie daughters, so it should be a nice change to run without the extra bulk.

IMG_5453

Right now my plan is to take it very easy and rest up this next week.  Maybe 1-2 very short, slow runs with some walking intervals, but that’s about it.  Oh, and I’m going to avoid my favorite beverage for the next 7 days too.  THAT might just be the thing that kills me.  I need to turn into a water-drinking machine.

But for now…

IMG_5477

Does anyone else find taking selfies completely strange and unnatural?

10 thoughts on “5K Freedom

  1. Sanne Williamson says:

    It’s probably a good thing this happened before your half marathon next week so you can prepare differently. When I was training for our 5K I ran in extreme heat once and felt SO sick afterwards I burst into tears the second I got home and had to jump in the pool to her some relief. It was awful so I know how you felt!!
    Great job and great time though and I know you’ll do amazing next week!
    Good luck without your drinks all week! 😉

Tell me what you think, I'd love to hear from you!

