Big League Mommy Moments

Now, I’ll be completely honest – my closets usually look like a bomb hit them, because that’s where I hide everything.  There’s a pile of trash on the back patio because I forgot it was bulk trash day last weekend.  If you open my fridge you’ll find a mysterious chunk of blue stuff that’s been there a month – I haven’t even tried to clean it yet.  I did try to vacuum today, but I’m pretty sure that it didn’t suck up anything because there was enough hair in the canister to rival a Sasquatch.  I always forget to wash the tub until I see the icky ring the girls deposit, and I only just put away the cake stand a friend borrowed and returned over 7 weeks ago.

IMG_2016

Hmmmmm… what else…. Sometimes I intentionally turn on the TV so I can zone out for a bit.  I’ve been known to carry on text conversations with my friends while holding one with Emily at the same time.  I wake up sometimes and my first thought is, “Man!  I have to make breakfast again?!?!”  I get annoyed that Julia would rather watch Paw Patrol than Dance Moms, so I try to make eating in her tent with the flaps closed sound like fun so I can squeeze in a minute here and there.  True story.

IMG_4721

Despite all this, I know I’m a good mom.

Aside from the closets, my house is pretty clean.  The fridge is always stocked, garbage goes out twice a week (except when it only goes out once), and my girls get a good night’s sleep every night.  My beauties love to play, craft, and bake with me.  We play games, dance, sing songs, and snuggle during movies.  We eat junk food, as well as our daily fruits and veggies.  To me, this is all Minor League status stuff.  Standard “I’m a Mom and This is What I Do” stuff.

But every so often I feel like I’ve made it to the Big Leagues.  That is, I’ve gone Pro.

These are some of those moments, in no particular order.

  1. When my girls ask to eat something healthy.  Every so often my girls will come up and beg me for a banana, or carrots, or apple slices.  Whenever this happens I burst with pride a little inside, knowing that they are making healthy choices.  Then I panic a little because I’m not sure if we have what they are asking for.
  2. When my girls have a bath more than 3 days in a row.  I’m going to credit this one to being such a good mom that my kids are so well-trained to their bedtimes that they start getting too cranky if they are up too late. Because of this, if we are out too close to bedtime or past bedtime due to Girl Scouts or Bible Study, we opt out of bathtime.  But every so often I have my act together and manage to remember to get them in the tub before we leave… and if this happens more than 3 days straight I feel like a rock star.
  3. When Emily has a friend over and I make them do homework before they play.  I don’t know why this one makes me so proud, I guess it just seems über-mommy-ish to me.
  4. When my girls sing along with the radio to a song we sing in church.  Um, why wouldn’t this make me feel wonderful?
  5. When I had to change Julia’s diaper while she was standing.  I honestly can’t remember why on earth I had to do this, but I remember feeling awesome that I did it.

That’s all I can think of for now… I’m sure there are more, but since both girls are already passed out upstairs (sans bath) my Mommy Brain has officially shut down.  I’m done Mommy-ing for the day.

IMG_2593

PS – It’s almost Friday!  🙂

7 thoughts on “Big League Mommy Moments

  1. Oh, I love this so much!! You are a totally awesome mom!! You have a special way to really evoke emotion in your posts and I love that you share the beauty in your life!! Xoxo!!!

Tell me what you think, I'd love to hear from you!

