Let’s Lighten Things Up a Bit, Shall We?

Warning: This post is not only lengthy (as usual), but also zones in on how indecisive I can be.  It also has a lot of seemingly identical photos.  Not a pretty mix.  Proceed at your own risk.

But first, a story.

The History of the Desk that No Longer Lives in My Home

Not too long ago I treated myself to the most beautiful teal blue console table ever. One glance in Target and I fell in love, a peek at it on their website and I was a goner. After scoring a killer deal on it, I hit the “order” button and it was on its way to our house.

The console was replacing a gorgeous almost-antique desk that my parents had bought for me when I was in middle school.  I loved that desk, and to this day it remains among the top 10 gifts I’ve ever received from anyone.  It was everything I’d wanted – little drawers, a fancy key, a real grown-up feel.  That desk moved with me at least 5 times over the next 13 years.  Where I went, it went.

But after a few years of living with it as an entryway table (the only place it would fit in our current house), I started to notice how it was really too big for the narrow space.  I was also starting to realize that nearly everything in our entire house was a different shade of brown (see photo with desk below), totally not reflective of Jay’s or my style.   Add to that the numerous cracks in the desk that would have required professional care, and that made strike three for the desk.  It was time to say goodbye.  Fortunately, I was able to sell the desk to a fellow teacher who restores older pieces of furniture with her daughter.  I was brokenhearted to let it go, but happy to know that it was going to be loved, restored, and helping a family bond.

IMG_4216Now that I’ve told that sad, long story, its time to move on to the point of this post. The desk, like everything else, was brown.  The frame on top was brown.  The shoe basket was brown. The bowl that held our keys was… well, I’m sure you get the idea. So what did I do as soon as I had my teal entry table set up?  I painted the wall a darker milk-chocolatey brown.  Don’t ask.  I’m no interior decorator by any means, but I know that brown goes well with brown, so I guess it seemed safe.  Of course, it only took a few days for me to realize what I had done. Shame on me.  Shame.

IMG_6915There is a plan in place to paint the walls a very light, non-brown-whatsoever color, but for now I figured the least I could do was to start replacing all the brown accessories I’d accumulated.  I started by spray-painting the brown shoe basket white.  Then I found a really light linen bin with white leather trim at Target, and swapped it out with the open basket on the bottom right that held the girls’ coloring books and crayons.

IMG_6914But the whole thing looked a bit off balance.  I looked at two other Targets for another basket, but since I’d found it for 70% off on clearance I didn’t have any luck.  But I did find a new doormat, all teal blues and limey-greens in a cool geometric diamond shape, and again, love.  Love love love love love.  I’d always known I’d like to incorporate more greens in with the blues I already had going on, and this was a fabulous find that blended the two beautifully.  A trip to Michael’s led me to a great rectangular hinged basket – perfect for hiding all my cross-stitching materials and perfect for replacing the dark brown leather boxes they were currently being stored in.

IMG_6913I set it all up and it still felt unbalanced.  So I tossed the girls in the car and made one more trip back out to the store(s).  Yes, we went to Michael’s and Target twice each in one day.  I’m like that when I’m inspired.  I grabbed another green hinged basket for the girls’ coloring supplies, a new silver key tray, and some cute white stoneware labels for my baskets.  And here it is, all set up!

IMG_6938

IMG_6924I totally love it now!  I removed the picture of my brother and I looking ready for a fight in the Wild West, and I hung the mirror up on the wall (finally – although it seems a little high and I may lower it later or get a taller one).  I feel like the table is still missing something (probably a lighter wall color behind it)… and I know the lamp is a little small (it’s one of the things I’d save if the house was on fire)… but I am LOVING the change!  I think lightening the accessories made a huge difference in how the whole room feels.  And Julia’s enjoying it too… 🙂

IMG_6934One more shot, with new hydrangeas.  I saw some one my friend’s table and had to get some of my own!

IMG_7425

6 thoughts on “Let’s Lighten Things Up a Bit, Shall We?

  1. purpleprincess24 says:

    Yep… that sounds like you… but once you get it the way you like it, it really ‘Pops’. I love how it looks, those green baskets on the bottom really tie it all together! Beautiful!

Tell me what you think, I'd love to hear from you!

