Summer Fun Checklist

Ok, so I totally stole this idea from my bestie.  She’s made a Summer Fun Checklist for her family for the past few summers, listing all the things that they hope to accomplish in the short few months before school begins again.  Her checklists are just about the cutest things I’ve seen, and her boys love checking things off all summer long.

Screen Shot 2014-06-07 at 3.05.43 PM

The girls and I usually have some sort of summer fun list too, although all of our activities just get written on the family calendar.  Things like Play-Doh and painting and making cookies just happen when they happen, they were never officially listed anywhere.  But seeing all of those fabulous little empty checkboxes really made me want to make one of my own.  So, being the Great Idea Stealer that I am, I decided to create one too this year.

IMG_8688 - Version 2I loved how colorful her checklists were, and how she uses stickers to jazz it up. Since I didn’t want to completely duplicate her idea, I decided to decorate a sheet of plain white poster board with markers instead. I found a sheet of insect stickers at the Dollar Tree, and since Emily adores bugs so much I figured some jumbo-sized blades of grass and flowers would add the color I needed, as well as give her insect friends somewhere to crawl.

IMG_8691

Jay, the girls, and I came up with a long list of things we wanted to put on our checklist. Some of the activities were pre-planned (such as trips), and some were just random fun things (mainly based on things we already have around the house). Here are some of the things we came up with:

  • make jewelry
  • trip to the zoo
  • swim in a natural spring
  • Play-Doh
  • visit the pet store
  • nature hikes
  • family pajama party movie night
  • Nana & Granddad’s visit
  • Slurpees 🙂
  • marshmallow sculptures
  • pool
  • Nickelodeon Studios Hotel
  • Legos
  • picnic
  • make pancakes
  • go to a waterpark
  • see a movie
  • Bug Camp
  • make a sun-catcher
  • hunt bugs
  • board games
  • go see fireworks
  • sleepover at Grandma’s & Grandpa’s
  • Emily’s birthday party
  • arts & crafts
  • paint nails
  • library
  • beach day

Emily loved this idea so much that she asked for her own sheet of poster board so she could make her own checklist!

IMG_8698

Her list is awesome, and includes things like telling stories, having meetings with animals, finding butterfly eggs, and reading books about “stuff like owls.”  I love this kid.

IMG_8701

The girls and I are excited to start checking things off – it looks like it’s going to be an amazing summer!  🙂

9 thoughts on “Summer Fun Checklist

  1. Sanne Williamson says:

    So happy you did one too- you will all love it! Yours looks amazing!
    And I LOVE that Emily made her own! 💜

  2. Okay, apparently we may have have been separated at birth, Susie….sounds like you like to read? And, is it a far stretch to think that you might also love the Harry Potter series since it’s on your daughter’s summer checklist in both video and book form? LOL HUGE HP FAN HERE! And, lastly, but certainly not least….your husband is a computer techie? Does he work in IT? If so, we certainly were separated at birth….my husband is a computer nerd too! LOL

    • Haha! I actually started reading HP and made it to the 4th book before I realized I actually enjoyed the movies more (I know, I know). I’m a pretty visual person, and I loved how the movies were done, so I kinda ditched the books. But I’m a mega fan of the series. My daughter, however, is a JUNKIE! 😀
      I’m currently reading The Maze Runner series, and I’m totally loving it! 🙂
      Yeah, my hubby is a techie, but he’s a software engineer. It has its pros and cons, as I’m sure you know!

Tell me what you think, I'd love to hear from you!

