Honest Review: Decal Girl

I’m not much of a techie. To be honest, I’m kinda scared that one day robots will become smarter than us and take over the Earth. So I’m not one to ask for a new device, no matter how old or outdated mine get.  But, being married to a computer nerd has its advantages, one of them being that I never have to ask for the newest upgrade – eventually it drives him crazy that I’m still using something that’s had about 50 upgrades since I bought it, and inevitably I’ll find a newer model in a birthday gift or under the Christmas tree.

And when that happens, one of the first things I do is head over to Decal Girl.

Screen Shot 2014-06-03 at 9.20.02 AM

I love my things to have a little kick of personality, something that takes the generic everyone-else-has-one-just-like-it out of the equation.  Decal Girl is truly a one-stop-shop for jazzing up whatever device you’ve got, whether it be a smartphone, game console, or even a tiny little mp3 player.  Seriously, they have decals for the itty bitty iPod Shuffle, and it’s just about the cutest thing I’ve ever seen.

Screen Shot 2014-06-11 at 5.19.40 PM

I discovered Decal Girl when I received my first Kindle as a Mother’s Day gift.  The Kindle was a boring white and the case was a boring black, and I wanted something to make it feel more like me.  After searching online, I found Decal Girl and chose this fun pattern:

Screen Shot 2014-06-11 at 4.28.27 PMThe decal was easy to apply (as long as you take your time), and over 5 years later is still holding strong.  It’s turning a faint yellowish-reddish color where my thumbs rest on the “next page” buttons (see photo below), but that’s after years of use. The decal itself has never lifted, peeled, or torn, and to be honest I was getting ready for a new look anyway.

photo

I chose this pattern for my laptop:

Screen Shot 2014-06-11 at 1.26.00 PMBecause of the size, this decal was actually much more difficult to put on than the one I purchased for my Kindle.  I did manage to trap a few small air bubbles, but rubbing them towards the edges got rid of most of them, and the worst offender disappeared after a few months of mindlessly rubbing at it while working.  This decal actually first arrived misprinted, with nothing below the red bird’s head on it and tons more empty white space at the top.  I made a quick call to customer service and they immediately shipped me a new one in perfect condition.  And, like the decal I have on my first Kindle, this one has not lifted, peeled up, or torn.

For Mother’s Day this year I received the Kindle Paperwhite, and once again, I headed right over to their site and chose my decal.  This time I chose something that wasn’t mainly white, so I think I won’t have the discoloration like before:

Screen Shot 2014-06-11 at 4.39.09 PMThe only bummer is that I never get a chance to see the full image on the back of my Kindle since it’s in a case.  But I sure do love seeing this little burst of happiness every time I go to read!

photo-1

The site has hundreds of artwork designs, and almost every design can be made to fit any device.  You can search by image (flowers, skulls, animals, etc.), colors, or even by artist if you decide you like a particular designer’s style. Or, you can choose your device and they will show you skins that will fit.  You can even create your own skin! The site gives an image of what your design will look like on your device (as long as you’re not the first one to purchase the design), which always gives me peace of mind when making a selection.

Here are some of my other favorites:

Screen Shot 2014-06-11 at 5.09.58 PM Screen Shot 2014-06-11 at 5.04.41 PMIn a nutshell, I highly recommend this site for anyone looking to personalize their device. I’m actually headed back over there now to check out that cute little iPod decal! 🙂

* I was not paid or perked or even asked to do this review.  All opinions are my own, and I am happy to honestly answer any questions about my experience with this company and their products.

* All images (except for the photos of my Kindles) were taken from www.decalgirl.com

* Artwork credits:

  • Faded Floral – Susan Claire
  • Olga – Decal Girl Collective
  • Tweet Light – FP
  • Beneath the Surface – CCambrea
  • Refuse to Sink – Brooke Boothe
  • Cosmic Flower – Creative by Nature
  • Octopus Bloom – Valentina Ramos
  • Traveler – Brooke Boothe
  • Under the Sea – Disney Princess
  • Doodles Color – Valentina Ramos
Tell me what you think, I'd love to hear from you!

