Tiny Closet Love

A while back I did a post about a free closet makeover using baskets and bins I had lying around the house.  Purging unused and unwanted items, along with creative rearranging and utilizing those containers helped breathe new life into Emily’s cluttered closet.

And I was jealous.

IMG_4202

The closets in our house are ridiculously small – especially the closets in the master bedroom.  Jay and I each have a small, non-walk-in closet with sliding mirrored doors, his closet being about a foot and a half smaller than mine.  We each also have a single wire shelf that runs the length of the closet above our clothes.  We dream of walk-ins one day, but it’s not something we are able to really do well in this house so we’ve learned to make the most of what we’ve got.  And boy, I sure made the most of mine.

IMG_6721Due to the lack of space, one of the first things we did was buy on of those hanging rods that doubles your closet space.  It worked well, but there were a few problems; mainly that the clothes hanging above the rod would get caught on the hangars below, and the clothes on the bottom would puddle on the floor, staying wrinkled no matter how diligently I ironed.  And somewhere in the back of our minds we always feared the weight would pull down the entire wire shelf, as it did in the first apartment we had when we got married.

IMG_6722

My shoes were also being punished as a result of this arrangement.  Since there was no way they’d fit on the floor in the closet, I had to put them all in a bin that rolled under the bed.  They were constantly getting dirty from being thrown in with each other, and there were some that would inevitably get forgotten since I couldn’t see them all the time.

A visit to my friend’s gorgeous walk-in closet proved to be the kick in the tushie I needed.  I noticed that she had folded a good number of her shirts instead of hanging them, something that had never occurred to me.  I iron everything, so I hang everything. An afternoon spent rearranging my dresser drawers gave me the space I needed to fold and stash my tank tops and v-neck shirts that I wear on a day-to-day basis.  Then I purged my closet ruthlessly, getting rid of anything I no longer wear or don’t see myself wearing again in the near future.

IMG_7462

All of this gave me the room I needed to get rid of the doubling rod, and hang all my clothes on the wire shelf.  Yay!  Floor space!

The next step was finding something for my shoes.  I considered cubbies, but couldn’t really find anything that would confidently fit my shoes – some are too deep, some are too shallow, and some only hold one shoe per cubby.  Not pair of shoes – one shoe.  It seemed the best way to go would be shelves, and I found what I was looking for at Target.

IMG_7464

Once I was home I quickly assembled my shelves and placed them below my newly organized clothes.  It was actually kinda fun putting my shoes on the shelves – they look so pretty all lined up!  I also organized my top shelf a bit, placing sweaters in sealed bins that used to hold more shoes, and using the space the sweaters used to occupy to store tote bags and such.

IMG_7468

It’s still no walk-in, but I am so happy with the change.  After over 10 years of going to the closet for my clothes, it’s taken a bit of time to adjust to some things being in drawers.  But I’m having much more fun getting dressed now that everything isn’t crammed into the closet just to get wrinkled, and now that I can see my shoes more easily.

The girls are having more fun with my shoes now too… 🙂

IMG_7486

7 thoughts on “Tiny Closet Love

  1. Looks awesome! I love organizing stuff like that. I’m lucky that I do have a nice walk-in closet, but it’s still a mess. We have way too many clothes, and I need to seriously purge a bunch of stuff. This post is helping to motivate me to get it done soon. Thanks!

  2. purpleprincess24 says:

    Looks Awesome! I’ve been thinking about those shelves for my shoes, too! First I’ve gotta purge a bunch of clothes… been added to my closet, but not subtracting… Oh, right… Math! LOL

Tell me what you think, I'd love to hear from you!

