A Super Simple Pool “Party”

Want to throw an amazingly easy party?  Find a pool, and invite some kids over.  Don’t even worry about decorations, games, or goody bags.

Because seriously, kids + pool = nothing-else-matters-at-the-party.  Except maybe the cupcakes.

IMG_8997

As I mentioned in this post about the rainbow party I threw the girls two years ago, I’m constantly told that I’m lucky that their birthdays are so close together.  But really, it makes June a bit overwhelming.  Between that and the ridiculous amount of toys these girls have (the attic is full of playthings that Emily has outgrown but Julia hasn’t grown into yet), I had no desire to throw her a party.

So I decided to NOT throw a party – instead I threw a Pool Play Date!

IMG_9020

I actually really enjoy putting together a fun themed birthday party, but since I hadn’t planned to do one for Julia this year I wasn’t prepared when Party-Throwing Withdrawal set in.  I’d only given myself a week to put something together, and I needed to work fast.

I set up an event on Facebook and invited some of Julia’s closest friends.  Super easy, and it only took a few minutes before I received a few “yes” responses.  Yay!

Screen Shot 2014-06-25 at 2.21.50 PM Screen Shot 2014-06-25 at 2.21.38 PM

I decided to call it a “play date” because it simplified a few things immensely:

  • No need for formal or fancy invitations
  • No need to provide tons of food
  • No need for party favors
  • No need to plan games or activities
  • No need for decorations
  • No need for guests to bring gifts

Granted, you can throw a birthday party without doing all of those things – but not if you’re me.  So calling it a play date instead of a party took a huge mental load off of my shoulders, even if it was just semantics.

Just in case the kids forgot to bring pool toys I purchased a few pool noodles and some floating animal pool toys I found in the Dollar Spot at Target.  I also bought a bag of cheese puffs (which was gone in about 30 minutes) and a bag of Doritos, some un-themed plates, and a ton of juice boxes (blue, of course).  No balloons, no favors, not even a Happy Birthday sign.  Boo-ya.

photo-1

I did cave in and make some cute pool-themed cupcakes I found on Pinterest using Teddy Grahams and gummy Lifesavers candy.  I couldn’t help myself – they were just too perfect and too adorable.  That and the fact that making a themed cake is probably my favorite thing about throwing a party… or a play date.

IMG_8990

The moms arrived with their kids, the kids took a look at the pool, and for the next two hours we all just sat around talking and soaking up the sun.  And I don’t mean in chaise lounges – not these moms!  We were all in the pool with the kids, catching them when they jumped in, swimming, throwing them in the air, tossing a ball back and forth.  It was awesome, and I love how it ended up feeling like a play date for the mommas too. And, miraculously, it didn’t rain.  It has monsooned every year on Birthday Party Day for the last 8 years.  I was so happy I almost cried.

IMG_9022

We sang “Happy Birthday” to Julia and ate cupcakes, and then everyone got together so I could get a group shot to put in Julia’s baby book to prove that she had a “party.” I didn’t want drama in 10 years when she realizes Emily had a 3rd birthday party and she didn’t.

IMG_9037

So please don’t tell her it wasn’t a party, okay? 😉

Happy 3rd, Julia! ❤

IMG_9069

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “A Super Simple Pool “Party”

    • They came with the blue frosting! I think it was Pillsbury… I’m not completely sure. It was one of those frosting and sprinkles containers. Worked out well, even though fish don’t swim in pools. 🙂

Tell me what you think, I'd love to hear from you!

