Genie Wishes

The question usually goes something like this:

Imagine you’re digging in you great-great-great-great-grandmother’s attic.  You come across an old oil lamp she found while on her travels.  You decide to clean the lamp up, and after rubbing the side with a cloth for a few minutes out pops a genie and tells you he’s going to grant you 3 wishes.  What do you wish for?

Now, obviously, the best wishes would be for things like ending world hunger, no more wars, homelessness would be eradicated, every orphan has a home, etc.  But say these wishes were only allowed to be applied to you directly.  The genie isn’t powerful enough to save the world, so the wishes have to be selfish – you’re the only benefactor.  I know, it sucks, but those are the rules.

I made my list of wishes the first time this question was posed to me, and to be honest it hasn’t really changed all that much.  I never saw the sense in asking for tons of money or a pony or giant bowls of ice cream.  And my wishes weren’t simple either. After seeing movies and cartoons where the genie gets confused and the guy who wishes to become the richest man in the world becomes a major drug dealer with all the problems that go along with it, I knew I had to be specific.

So, in no particular order, here are the wishes I’ve held onto since I was a kid:

Have a voice exactly like Whitney Houston’s
The voice of an angel – that’s what I thought the first time my parents played her album for me.  I was hooked, and memorized every word to every song.  I saw a photo of her with her hair all teased out, and with my curly hair I knew I could even look like her if I wanted to.  Ah, the fantasies of a child.  But to this day, I will belt out any of her songs when I hear them, and I still wish I had a voice just like hers.

Screen Shot 2014-07-05 at 9.04.22 PM

Sing a duet with Phil Collins
Now that I can sing like Ms. Houston I’d love to sing with my all-time favorite, Phil Collins.  I have envied Marilyn Martin for her duet with him in “Separate Lives,” and later I even found myself jealous of Rosie O’Donnell and ‘N Sync for their duets with him in Disney’s Tarzan.  I’d love for my duet with him to be documented on video, (of course I’d look amazing), and for he and I to have a blast doing it.  For now though, I’ll just have to settle for my autographed photo.  🙂

IMG_8906

Meet the Muppets and star in a movie with them
The Muppets are awesome, and it would be the coolest thing in the world to show up in one of their movies and get to interact with them.  I love their loose attitudes and quirky, silly jokes.  One of my good friends had a chance to interview them last year, but unfortunately she wasn’t allowed to bring anyone along. Durnit.  She did bring me back some mementos from her trip though, so I wasn’t totally bummed.  You can read her interview with them here, it’s pretty funny!

10011282_10201574660680364_1169368348_n

Have always-perfect hair like a Disney Princess
Life just isn’t fair.  And hair, in my opinion, is the best example of this.  I would love it if I could stand on a windy cliff like Pocahontas and not look like a hot mess. Or swim and surface like Ariel and have my hair look dry either way. Or drag my hair behind me like Rapunzel without getting ridiculous tangles.  Or sleep for any length of time and wake up with perfect hair like Snow White and Aurora.  I would love it if my hair could just look amazing no matter what situation I’m in.  Is that too much to ask?

Screen Shot 2014-07-05 at 9.19.09 PM

Perfect eyesight
I’ve had glasses since I was in 3rd Grade, and contacts since I started high school.  I’m terrified of getting laser surgery, but I would love to wake up in the morning, open my eyes, and see clearly.  Perfect eyesight for life.  Who wouldn’t want that?

So that’s my list!  Of course, now that I’m a mom and a wife I should probably tweak it a bit… maybe wish for a weekend alone… or with Jay… in Australia.  Nails that don’t lose their polish so quickly.  The ability to fully recharge each night on 4 hours of sleep. A pet jellyfish.

You can laugh if you want, but I’m willing to bet that most people have their list ready too.  Feel free to share your wishes in the comments below if you like – if nothing else it might make me feel less shallow!  😀

4 thoughts on “Genie Wishes

  1. Sanne Williamson says:

    Haha I totally love this and I love your wishes! However, I did count 5 and you said 3 wishes… Hmm, wonder what your top 3 would be?

    My #1 wish is crazy shallow so it should instantly make you feel better! 😉 Have the body of a VS angel and be able to eat whatever I want without ever losing that amazing body. HEAVEN!!!!!

    My next wish would be that my house would clean itself overnight, every night. No more cleaning… I think I just heard the angels singing. 😃

    My 3rd wish would be a one year trip around the world with John and the boys. Man, that would be amazing!!

    Now if only… 😊❤️

    • Brittany says:

      1. Amazing hair (I feel you in the Disney princess thing)

      2. Become a rising film star and win an Oscar. Then I would probably retire and enjoy my children. I really like Jennifer Garner and the way she seems to balance her life.

      3. Be able to paint. I have always admired art and people who are
      Painters in particular. It is not a skill (or creativity) I possess.

      • These are great! I think more stars should retire and enjoy life. It’s so sad to see how many can’t handle being in the spotlight for too long, although I know it can’t be easy. I like your third wish too, it sounds so relaxing. 🙂

    • Oh yes! I totally meant to explain that and I forgot! I pretty much rotate among those 5, but I think my top 3 are the hair, the voice, and Phil Collins. Or maybe the Muppets… maybe the genie can just grant me 5? 😉 😀
      Oooooh – your #1 is GOOD!!! I need to add that to my post-kids list!!! Love the other two as well, but you forgot to add me to the trip-around-the-world wish… hee hee… 😉 ❤

Tell me what you think, I'd love to hear from you!

