Updates

I’ve been writing here for a while now, and I realized the other day that I have a bad habit of mentioning things that I want to change or problems I’m facing, but never seem to get around to sharing how (or if) I’ve resolved them. So without further adieu, here are recaps on some things I’ve mentioned on my blog, along with updates on where I am now on them. 🙂

Threshold

I publicly declared my addiction to Target’s Threshold line not too long ago. As my budget from my yard sale and Craigslist earnings diminished, sadly, so did my spending. But Target has some pretty killer clearance deals from time to time. All that to say my collection of Threshold products still continues to grow…

Screen Shot 2014-08-22 at 9.20.39 AM

Patio Pillows

At the end of a post about me ignoring Julia’s stinky diaper in Target so I could snag some cute Threshold pillows for my patio bench, I mentioned that I wasn’t sure I even liked them. As it turns out I didn’t, and after enduring all those evil stares I ended up returning the pillows after all. They looked very green in the store, but when I put them on the bench they just looked gold. Instead, I found this cute fish pillow and a colorful striped pillow at WalMart for about $6 each (almost half the price of the Target pillows). Perfect.

photo-1

Holey Shirts

This is one thing I am ECSTATIC to report on. Many of my shirts had been getting minute holes in them, right about in the bellybutton area. I posted some theories about what could be causing them in this post, as well as some thoughts on how I might avoid getting them on my newer shirts. I’m happy to report that I’ve succeeded! Since writing that post I’ve been careful to do the three things I mentioned: stop leaning up against kitchen counters, only wear a belt without harsh edges on the buckle, and pull my shirt out from beneath my seatbelt when in the car. I had to constantly keep reminding myself of these things, but eventually they became second nature and I haven’t seen a single hole appear on any of my new shirts – bought at the same stores as before. Can I get a WHOOP WHOOP? 🙂

photo-3

Patio Plants

So, solving the problem of holey shirts was not as tricky as keeping my cute planter of plants alive. The biggest problem is that I planted right before our crazy rainy season, and apparently some of those plants weren’t meant to get that wet. Then there was the lone swallowtail caterpillar that managed to eat all my parsley, then happily moved on to eat all my cilantro.

photo-2

To be honest, I don’t know why I planted herbs. I don’t cook enough to warrant needing fresh herbs. The kalanchoe (orange flowers) held out for a long time, but eventually died too. The lone survivor is the stonecrop. It flourished, and I had to replant it into a larger pot. It’s currently outgrowing that pot though, so I think I’m going to plant it where the rocks are near the wall and let it spread out as a groundcover.  Especially since it’s already started doing that on its own…

Screen Shot 2014-08-19 at 10.03.07 PM

I’m sure this post will interest my mom more than anyone, but it feels kinda nice to put closure to some of these.  I’ve been wanting to tell the world about those dumb holes for months now!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Updates

  1. Sharon says:

    I’ve been meaning to ask you about the holes, I get them too and recently found one in a rather high wasted pair of underwear!! I’m stumped as I don’t wear belts and everything else i can think of (like you) is on the outside of my clothes!

    • I honestly can’t imagine what could be the problem on the underwear since it is, like you said, beneath the clothes. If they are randomly all over then maybe it’s happening in the wash… if not, I’m stumped!

Tell me what you think, I'd love to hear from you!

