Another Visit to Rainbow Springs

IMG_0639I realize I’ve written about Rainbow Springs before, but I cannot begin to describe how much I love this place. We always stop off there when visiting my parents, and I promise I’ve fought off the urge to blog about it every time we go. But this trip was special, since it was Julia’s first time getting in the water with us – so it totally warranted its own post.

DSCF5358

This time we were travelling with my friend and her two kids, and it really made the whole experience more fun – mainly because none of them had been there before and weren’t exactly thrilled at the idea of jumping in the cold water.

DSCF5338

Emily and my friend’s daughter jumped right in and swam around using their noodles. Both girls are strong swimmers, but its so deep that you can’t put your feet down anywhere in the spring. Julia had a new swim vest, and I tried getting her to go in, but she’d step down, get her feet wet, then immediately turn around and climb back out. Eventually I just jumped in, swam back to her, grabbed her arm, and dragged her in. She hated it at first, but as she got used to the water she was less disagreeable. Sometimes you just gotta show tough love. 😉

DSCF5305

My friend had brought a water camera with her, so we were able to get some really great pictures of ourselves underwater. I’d never had an underwater photo taken before!  My nose bubbles crack me up. Emily looks like she should get a job at Weeki Wachee.

DSCF5321DSCF5322

At some point the kids started jumping off the dock, and we were able to capture some great shots of that too. Julia even gave it a try twice, although she insisted I had my foot on the ladder before she’d leap into my arms.

DSCF5350 DSCF5357

I know I’ve recommended it before, but if you ever find yourself in Central Florida, be sure to make a detour to see Rainbow Springs – it’s a swimming experience like no other!

DSCF5314

PS – My entomologist daughter wanted me to add this photo she had my friend take of dragonflies mating at Rainbow Springs.  You’re welcome.

DSCF5385

Although now that I think about it, my last post on Rainbow Springs also ended with an insect photo.  I’m just glad these didn’t sting anyone! 😀

4 thoughts on “Another Visit to Rainbow Springs

  1. Sanne Williamson says:

    It seriously looks absolutely stunning!!! I’m so glad you guys had such a good time and that Julia had a great first experience.
    One day we’ll have to take our kiddos there together! 😊❤️

Tell me what you think, I'd love to hear from you!

