I Hope the Stories Never End

Now that Emily has finished reading Harry Potter, she’s back to her old ways of reading multiple books at once.

Currently, she’s reading:

  • Ever After High: The Storybook of Legends
  • Happy Birthday, Bad Kitty
  • Emily Windsnap and the Monster From the Deep

Screen Shot 2014-08-24 at 8.21.26 PM

But even though her current reading list is longer than mine, even though she’s 8 years old, and even though I still get teased by a friend for it, Emily and I still love reading together a few nights a week.  Neither of us think that she’s too old to snuggle up under a blanket together with a good book while I read it aloud – crazy voices and all. As a teacher I love that it gives her an opportunity to hear me read with expression, but as a mom I love that it gives us something to bond over.

photo-1

One of our favorites that we’ve read together was Charlotte’s Web, a book that my first grade teacher read aloud to the class.  It was wonderful sharing something I’d fallen in love with as a child, and we had fun laughing at the characters and talking about how amazing it would be to see a word written in a spider’s web. When we got to the last line of the book, Emily and I had a good, long cry together.  She loved it so much that we dove right into another classic by E.B. White, The Trumpet of the Swan. It too became a fast favorite.

This time though, we’ve set our sights higher.  We’ve decided to dig into one of my other all-time favorite books, The Neverending Story. We had a crazy rainy day here not too long ago, and while looking for a new movie to watch we stumbled across the film version of the book on Amazon Prime. Something told me she’d love the story as much as I did as a kid, and I was totally right. After the movie was over I told her that it was based on a book, and I pulled it out of the cabinet.  Her eyes bulged.

IMG_0894

The Neverending Story is a book unlike any I’ve ever read, not just because of the unbelievable imagination and storytelling behind it, but also because instead of being typewritten in black or gray ink, this book’s text is printed in green and red. If you are unfamiliar with the story, it’s about a little boy, Bastian, who reads a book called The Neverending Story.  The book is printed in two colors to represent the parts of the story that focus on Bastian (red), and what Bastian is reading in his book (green).

IMG_0896

In addition to this unique feature, it also handles chapters differently.  In addition to giving each chapter a number and title, the first word in each chapter also begins with a different letter of the alphabet – starting with “A” and running all the way through “Z,” for a total of 26 chapters. For example, in the photo below the chapter starts off talking about Xayide, one of the many characters in the book. The only pictures in the book are illustrated around that chapter’s letter in the same red and green ink the text is printed in, and features key elements contained in that chapter.

IMG_0898

The book is pure magic, and I’m excited to dive into it with my book-loving daughter. But the real magic is those special moments we share over books like this. Those are the real never-ending stories, for those moments will be cherished forever in my heart. I know one day they will end, but for now I’ll hold on tightly. ❤

12 thoughts on “I Hope the Stories Never End

  1. Brittany says:

    Some of my FAVORITE childhood memories are when my mother read aloud to us. We actually had a reading night where everyone, including my dad, would gather around in the living room with blankets and listen to my mother read. She read short stories, chapter books, classics. I then started reading to my brothers and I even read to Tim out loud in the car when we are on road trips. I love this tradition.

    • I think that’s awesome. It’s funny you mention road trips, because the first time I read The Neverending Story was while on a road trip with my mom. We took turns driving, and whoever wasn’t driving would read aloud from the book. I was in college! 🙂

  2. I feel ridiculous for saying this, but . . . I DID NOT KNOW THAT WAS A BOOK. I can’t even tell you how many times I’ve seen the movie. The ink and the chapter thing are seriously awesome.

  3. That is an awesome post! A good friend of mine read the Harry Potter series out loud to her kids growing up, and the funniest thing was that when they received Book 7, her youngest was already 17 years old, but said, “Uhhh, what do you mean you’re not going to read it out loud?” So of course, she did read it out loud! I just think that is the coolest thing ever. Have you tried Judy Blume or Beverly Cleary books with Emily? Those were some of my absolute favorite books as a kid. Tales of a 4th Grade Nothing!!!!

  4. Sanne Williamson says:

    I’m so with you on this. I love reading to my boys too and love that it’s something they enjoy too. Snuggling up and reading together is so wonderful.
    I remember loving being read to by my parents as well as teachers. ❤️

Tell me what you think, I'd love to hear from you!

