31 Days, a Calendar, and a Preschooler

My sweet friend Tina recently encouraged me to join in on something called 31 Days. It’s a writing challenge, the goal being to choose one topic and write about that one topic every day for the entire month of October. Other bloggers join in as well on their blogs with their own topics, and everyone links their month’s posts up to the 31 Days website, providing easy access for interested readers.

Screen Shot 2014-09-25 at 3.58.11 PM

When this was first brought to my attention, I laughed. I usually post two or three times a week, and sometimes it’s almost impossible to think up things to write about. But I do it because it keeps my mind fresh. I don’t think I’ve ever written about anything for more than one post in a row though… I just can’t imagine writing about the same thing day after day. Who wants to write that? Who wants to read that?

But I was intrigued, so I started wracking my brain. What could I write about? I thought about cleaning various spaces in my home and sharing my processes, funny things Julia says, the personal struggles I face being a stay-at-home mom who used to make a larger difference in the world, letters to my beauties telling them why they are special.

And then, while shopping at Michael’s, I came across a classroom calendar set on clearance for $4.50. I’d been feeling guilty about Julia’s lack of schooling (one of those struggles I mentioned), and had been wanting to start doing daily calendar math and reading activities with her. I bought the calendar, laminated all the pieces, cut everything out, and velcroed it to the back of our kitchen island.

Ever been struck by metaphorical lightning? Well, about 5 minutes after hanging up the calendar kit it occurred to me that I was looking at my 31 Days writing topic. I taught Kindergarten and First Grade for 9 years, and daily Calendar Math lessons were one of my favorite subjects. I realized how excited I was to do the activities with Julia, and that writing about them wouldn’t require tons of time or thought. And – a bonus – it might be potentially helpful for other moms.

IMG_1598

So there it is. Beginning October 1st, I’ll be publishing one short (I promise) post a day for 31 days. Every post will be about the activities that Julia and I do with her calendar, and (hopefully) every post will be linked to the Preschool Calendar Activities category in the red bar at the top of the page. There may be some days when I have an additional post on a different topic, but get ready for 31 days of posts… all on things you can do with your preschooler and a calendar!

2 thoughts on “31 Days, a Calendar, and a Preschooler

  1. Sanne Williamson says:

    Can’t wait to read your ideas every day!! Looking forward to getting new ideas that I can implement in my classroom. 👍

Tell me what you think, I'd love to hear from you!

