Introducing Your Calendar

31dayslarge2

This is one of 31 calendar-related activities I’m posting for my 31 Days writing challenge. Click here to see the other activities I’ve posted!

So, without further adieu, here’s our calendar setup!

IMG_1631 2I chose to hang the following components on our daily calendar:

  • Calendar
  • Today is _________, Yesterday was __________, Tomorrow will be __________.
  • Weather Tracker
  • Word of the Week

My kit came with a chart to graph the weather patterns we see, but I decided to skip this because I don’t think Julia will grasp this concept as easily as the others.

I pre-set up the calendar with the current month, all the days that had already passed in the month, and any holidays/special days that passed or were approaching, as well as the first Word of the Week. All the extra pieces went into a bucket nearby on the floor. After hanging everything up on the back of our kitchen island, Julia and I sat down to talk about the calendar, including the big, big, BIG rule – it is NOT a toy. Julia is not allowed to play with the calendar or touch it unless she is using it with me or to answer a question (if I ask her to go check to see what day it is today, for example).

IMG_1603I told Julia that we would be sitting in front of the calendar every morning, and that she would get to add a new day every day. I told her that we would count together, sing songs together, and learn to read together. I demonstrated how to gently slide the pieces into the paper clips, and let her practice a few times on her own. We looked at the weather tracker and I showed her how we could spin the arrow to point to the weather we see outside our window every day.

Keep it simple, and talk about the calendar throughout the day to get your child excited about it. And let them talk about it too! 🙂

And that’s it, tomorrow we start building our activity list!

One thought on “Introducing Your Calendar

Tell me what you think, I'd love to hear from you!

