Halloween Costumes

*During the month of October I am participating in the 31 Days writing challenge, writing a post a day on calendar activities for preschoolers. But for those of you who are regular followers of my blog (thank you!), I still want to bring you posts on other topics. Thanks for sticking with me!

Here’s how Halloween costume choosing works in our house: if you are under the age of 3, Mommy gets to pick your costume. If you are over the age of 3, Mommy has to suck it up and go with whatever you choose.  This does not mean that Mommy won’t try to talk you out of the costume, using logic, weather patterns, pricetags, or the ever-popular “Mommy veto,” but it does mean that, once approved, Mommy will suck it up and let you get that costume.

From years 1-3, Emily was a pea pod, a pink leopard, and Little Red Riding Hood (one of my all-time favs). And Emily was not a fan of any of them. Although, in all fairness, the pea pod couldn’t possibly have been the least bit comfortable. The pink leopard was not too bad, but the tail drove her crazy and she hated wearing the hood. Durnit. She didn’t mind Little Red, since it looked like a dress, but again, I couldn’t get her to wear the hood that kinda sealed up her character. That was the year I became infatuated with matching the candy basket to the costume, a habit that still holds strong to this day.

Screen Shot 2014-10-05 at 5.00.43 PMAfter she was 3, we let her choose. And she immediately went for Cinderella. Now, I have nothing against kids choosing to be characters, but I’d kinda secretly hoped that she’d always want to be something the other kids never thought of.

DSC_0033Well, I got my wish when she turned 4, because she was dead set on being an elephant. All I could find were thick head-to-toe costumes that would have reduced her to a puddle of sweat inside had we put her in one. (Exhibit A). I successfully talked her out of that one, only to have her decide to be a seal instead. A seal. Back to the internet I went, but all I could find were things that would cause me to laugh. At my child. All night. (Exhibit B).

Screen Shot 2014-09-24 at 9.52.44 PMThankfully, Emily wasn’t a fan of the seal costumes once she saw them, and decided instead to be a monarch butterfly. Yes, she was that specific (I think the bug nut inside her was beginning to emerge). I started having heart palpitations at the thought of what that kind of costume might cost, but thankfully found a cute, inexpensive, acceptable number. And boy, was she a scene-stealer that year.

DSC_08305 years old brought about another Disney princess, this time it was Belle. A friend loaned us her costume (yay for free!), and despite the rainy weather (hence the boots), it was a great night. Since big sister had been a pea pod for her first Halloween, it felt right to dress Julia up as food for her first Halloween too, so out she went as a cupcake. Yummy.

Screen Shot 2014-09-24 at 10.01.04 PMWhen Emily was 6 she made me proud again by asking to be a peacock. I was proud… as a peacock. Yeah, that was lame. Anyway, her costume was gorgeous and immediately became a tie for my favorite, along with the monarch. Julia was a bumblebee, which completely matched her personality perfectly. She might have actually stung me that night, now that I think about it…

IMG_0132And then there was last year. I’ve said it before, but I will never beat last year’s costumes. Emily was the most perfect Padme Amidala. Ever. The hair… the costume… the attitude. She nailed it. And since this was the last year I could choose Julia’s costume, I did something I’d been dying to do for years and dressed her up as Holly Golightly from Breakfast at Tiffany’s, complete with her little shopping bag from Tiffany & Co. Total perfection.

Screen Shot 2014-10-05 at 5.09.28 PMThis year, the girls are in the process of making their choices. Emily’s pretty settled on being a tiger – can’t wait for that one. Julia, well, isn’t so sure. This is her first year choosing, and so far she’s asked me to get her the following costumes: Jasmine, My Little Pony, Olaf, a unicorn, Ana (from Frozen), crayon, and my favorite: a Julia costume.

Should be an interesting Halloween. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Halloween Costumes

  1. Sanne Williamson says:

    I’ve loved all your girls’ costumes so far and I LOVE that our families have been sharing Halloween since 2009!! Can’t wait to see their costumes this year! 😊🎃👻

Tell me what you think, I'd love to hear from you!

