Identifying the Day of the Week

31dayslarge2

This is one of 31 calendar-related activities I’m posting for my 31 Days writing challenge. Click here to see the other activities I’ve posted!

Now that you’re preschooler is a pro at naming the days of the week (thanks to yesterday’s song), now it’s time to teach them how to identify the current day of the week. This is an activity that Julia and I do daily, as it helps her develops a basic foundation of how a calendar works.

After putting up the current date, move your finger up to the day of the week listed at the top of the calendar. Read the word aloud, stressing the initial sound and pointing out the first letter. You could also hold one finger on the current day of the week, then use another finger to point to the days of the week as you say them, stopping at the current day. (Julia really likes doing it this way).

Example dialog:
“We just put up the number 14 on our calendar. I want to know what day of the week it is today, so I’m going to move my finger up, up, up until I get to the word at the top. I see that this word starts with an F, and F makes the sound /f/. So I can read, /f/-/f/-Friday!”

Here’s a little video Emily took for me to demonstrate the second method I mentioned above:

2 thoughts on “Identifying the Day of the Week

Tell me what you think, I'd love to hear from you!

