Today is _________.

31dayslarge2This is one of 31 calendar-related activities I’m posting for my 31 Days writing challenge. Click here to see the other activities I’ve posted!

If you bought a calendar kit, it most likely came with something similar to this:

FullSizeRender-1

I really love doing this part of the calendar, because it’s a great interactive visual of a sentence. If your preschooler is anything like mine, you most likely find yourself repeating the current day over… and over… and over. I love that I can tell Julia to go check the calendar to see what it says (as long as we are home). *Funny side note – We watch the Lego Movie quite often, and the other day we were making tacos for dinner. Julia says, It’s Taco…” then runs to check the calendar… “WEDNESDAY!” 😀 For now we are only focusing on “Today is…”, but later on we’ll get to identifying yesterday and tomorrow.

After identifying the current day of the week, put the day-of-the-week card on the chart. Then, model reading the sentence by putting your finger under each word as you read, “Today is ________.” If your child reads along, great! Then, have them read it back to you as you move your finger under each word for them.

Example dialog:
“So, now we know that today is Monday. Here’s the Monday card, can you please put it at the end of our sentence? Great! Now, watch me read the sentence: Today is Monday. Can you read that with me? Today is Monday. Awesomesauce!”

If your kit didn’t come with a chart like this, I highly recommend adding it to your routine. It’s super easy to do. You can find easy-to-make ones (click here to get the free calendar printable below), or you can type one up, print it out, laminate it, and use a whiteboard marker to write it in each day yourself. I prefer the card method because they can be used for other activities (which I’ll share later). Just type out the days of the week and laminate them too, then use velcro or paper clips to attach them to your sentence chart. 🙂

Screen Shot 2014-09-27 at 7.13.02 PM

One thought on “Today is _________.

Tell me what you think, I'd love to hear from you!

