Painting a Pumpkin Plaid

Want a super easy way to Fall-ify a pumpkin? Paint it plaid!

Screen Shot 2014-10-05 at 9.22.23 PMOkay, okay. I know pumpkins are already pretty Fall-y, and I’ll give God his due props for creating such an awesome fruit. I just love the squat shapes and bumpy surfaces of pumpkins – all those ridges and grooves, the short little stems, the flat bottoms. And don’t get me started on all that fabulously slimy goo inside.

The girls and I always paint a few small pumpkins every October, and this year I decided that it might be fun to have a little fall plaid to jazz up the dining room table. So while they attacked their pumpkins (Julia went for solid lilac and Emily worked in stripes and polka-dots), I went to work on mine.

Plaid is super easy to do! You just need four different paint colors in fall shades; two in lighter tones and two in darker. And, of course, some paintbrushes and a pumpkin. 🙂 I just used what I had in my craft stash – the brown and deep orange are the darker colors and the yellow and yellow-orange are the lighter.

IMG_1736Start with the vertical grooves on the pumpkin. Choose one of the lighter colors and use the grooves to help you paint vertical stripes on the surface.

IMG_1739Then, using one of the darker colors, paint vertical stripes between the light vertical stripes. Let the vertical stripes dry.

IMG_1741Once dry, take the second light color and, beginning at the stem, paint a circle around the stem on the surface of the pumpkin. Don’t worry if it isn’t perfect! Continue painting circles around the pumpkin horizontally, alternating between the second dark color and the second light color.

IMG_1745Let it dry, and you’ve got yourself a cute little plaid pumpkin! I’m seriously thinking of making another one of these for the front porch – larger though, of course! 🙂

IMG_1796

2 thoughts on “Painting a Pumpkin Plaid

Tell me what you think, I'd love to hear from you!

