Show Me the Weather!

31dayslarge2This is one of 31 calendar-related activities I’m posting for my 31 Days writing challenge.
Click here to see the other activities I’ve posted!

Your calendar may have come with some sort of weather chart, whether it uses a spinner (like my chart) or clothespins (like the one pictured at the bottom of this post), or some other method. My chart has a place to put the current season, but seasons don’t change much where we live so I don’t really spend on it right now other than mentioning it. I’m not going to address the seasons in this series, but if you want to teach it to your child, go for it! 🙂

IMG_1668Every day, go to the window or step outside with your child to see what the weather is. After checking, come back in and have your child mark the weather on your chart.

Example dialog:
“Let’s go see what the weather is outside today. I see a lot of clouds in the sky, so I would say that today is a cloudy day. Let’s go show that on our weather chart. Can you find the picture that has a lot of clouds on it? That’s right! All those clouds are showing us that it’s cloudy outside, so let’s put the arrow on the cloudy picture.”

Sometimes the weather might change mid-day (a very normal occurrence where we live). It’s totally up to you whether you want to go back to your calendar to change the weather or not. Every so often Julia will point out that it started raining and it isn’t sunny anymore, so we go change the chart from sunny to rainy in order to validate her recognition of the change in the weather.

If your calendar kit didn’t come with a weather chart, here’s a super cute one I found on Pinterest. Apparently the pin doesn’t have an original source, but you can find the directions on how to make it at this cute blog. (If you are the original creator, this is awesome)! Click below the photo for the link to the free printable!

2 thoughts on “Show Me the Weather!

  1. Sanne Williamson says:

    My preschoolers love doing the weather every day! Mine is like yours but Inlove that other one too! Maybe next school year… 😊

Tell me what you think, I'd love to hear from you!

