Let the Training Begin!

I’m so excited! I’ve officially signed up for my next 1/2 marathon in January 2015!

After running my first half earlier this year, I was dead. D-E-A-D. But I also knew that there would be another one in the future, because it was one of the most exciting and rewarding things I’d ever done in my life.

IMG_5606

I had no intention of running another one until 2015… intentionally training and preparing my body to be able to run 13.1 miles is one thing, but there’s just no way I could keep up that pace during the rest of the year. Between the long months of summer heat, family obligations, and the desire to sleep in, there’s just no way I’m running 10-13 miles every weekend.

And so it’s time to start training again. Time to start increasing my mileage… increasing my time spent hitting the pavement… increasing my lung’s ability to hang in there after 2 solid hours of running. Happily, despite the difficulties I’ve encountered over the past few months (including a sprained ankle), I’ve managed to maintain a 2-3 mile “stamina,” meaning I can begin my half-marathon training from there.

I’m not really planning to follow any sort of recommended training schedule, I’m just going to go at it like I did last time. Unfortunately, I’m running this half on my own – my former 13.1 running partner just had a baby (yesterday morning!), so I’m losing the competitive edge I had last time around. Not that she and I were competing against each other, we just didn’t want to be the one who had to walk any part of the race, and so we pushed and challenged ourselves so that we could finish the race together. Love you Erin, congrats! 🙂

1796606_10201405976783372_884790015_n

This time around I’ve set rough goals for myself. I have the next 3 months to train, and I’m giving myself mileage goals for each month so that by the time my race is here at the end of January I’ll be able to run the entire 13.1 like I did last time.

  • October5 miles
  • November8 miles 
  • December11 miles
  • January13.1 miles

I’m keeping track of my runs on a calendar, and I’m going to post the calendar in the menu at the top of this page (click the red circle to find it). I’ll update it every week or so, mainly as a way for me to keep track of my running progress… but maybe it will help someone else about to run a half too! 🙂

Wish me luck!

6 thoughts on “Let the Training Begin!

Tell me what you think, I'd love to hear from you!

