Another One Bites the Dust

Puzzle dust, that is. πŸ™‚

DSC_1541

A while back I mentioned that I have always had a thing for jigsaw puzzles, and at the time I was about to attack a new 6,000-piece puzzle that my grandparents bought for my birthday.

DSC_1535

Well, as soon as Emily’s birthday party was over I pounced.Β My dining room table wasn’t large enough to hold it, but once I created a new surface area out of posterboard I was all over it like ketchup on a hot dog.

DSC_1527

I was determined to complete the puzzle by the end of summer, since Emily prefers to do her homework on the table and we would resume hosting our Bible Study group again in the fall as well.

DSC_1514

I’m happy to say, I did it. I completed the puzzle on August 15, just 46 days after I started it. I guess I had the proverbial fire lit under my tushie, because even typing that shocks me to no end – it certainly didn’t feel like it was coming together that quickly, especially when I was staring at that endless purply sky. πŸ™‚

DSC_1504

Like my last large puzzle, I took a photo every so often so that I could make a stop-motion video of how it came together. Well, actually, I got halfway through the puzzle before realizing that I forgot to set up the camera, so any photos on here are actually taken as I dismantled the puzzle in the reverse order that I completed it in. And if you could follow that, you get a gold star. πŸ˜€

DSC_1479

I’m getting excited, since my birthday is just a few weeks away – I’m hoping that my grandparents send me another puzzle, and if they do I can’t wait to see what it is this time… and how many pieces!

DSC_1455

10 thoughts on “Another One Bites the Dust

  1. Sanne Williamson says:

    Seriously SO impressive!!! Can’t wait to see what you get next. Maybe there’s a 7000 piece Peeta puzzle?! πŸ˜πŸ˜‰

  2. Did you just get the 6,000 piece Suns Out Noah’s Ark puzzle? Sorry, i never responded to this post….I can’t believe it slipped through the cracks. Amazing work on that one – a truly beautiful puzzle. Hey, guess what I just ordered tonight?! The new 32,000 piece Ravesnburger New York City Window puzzle!!! I am sooooo excited. I can’t wait to get it.

    • Yes! It’s very beautiful, I’m hoping to start it up right after Christmas! We might not be hosting our Bible study next semester, so that gives me a few months without a huge need for our dining room table. πŸ™‚
      I’m excited for you, I know you love the NYC skyline puzzles!

Tell me what you think, I'd love to hear from you!

