Happy Birthday to Me!

Last year I wrote this post about what I was giving myself for my birthday. This year I decided not to be as deep. In fact, I went in the completely opposite direction and got about as shallow as I’ve ever been and bought a nice gift for myself… at my favorite store in the world!

IMG_3355Now, before I’m judged on how I spend my money, here are a few things you should know about me:

  1. I am cheap, and I hate spending large chunks of money all at once. Even if I’ve saved up money for something, I still break out in cold sweats at the register when I hand over my credit card. My heart rate goes up with each “beep” of an item being rung up, I fan my face, and for a few hours afterward I try to decide if there’s anything I want to return to get my money back.
  2. When I do spend a bit of money on something, it’s usually because I have been thinking about that item nonstop day and night. Actually, I rarely impulse buy anything – usually I walk away, and if I’m still thinking about the item hours or even days later then I know I’ll be happy with it and I go back to get it.
  3. I absolutely adore Tiffany’s. ❤

IMG_3354Earlier this year my best friend Sanne and I booked another girls’ trip to New York City. We timed out our trip with the release of the movie Mockingjay, which just happened to come out near my birthday. Seriously, how awesome is that? 🙂 We also planned to stop by Tiffany’s, so I started saving my money months in advance – I had my eye on the most beautiful tote I’d ever seen. I’d wanted the Jitney Tote for almost a year, and that’s about how long it took for me to be okay with the price tag it came with. Once I decided to go for it (at Jay’s insistence), I started saving. I sold things on Craigslist, had a yard sale, did some internet work, and saved some money in my budget along with birthday money I’d received from Jay’s & my parents. I drooled over it online every few days, and got myself super excited about finally bringing it home.

IMG_3568Then one night I happened to look it up again and – to my instant horror – saw that it was out of stock. After calling customer service I learned it had been discontinued and that the NYC flagship store only had six left in stock. The salesclerk at the store patiently listened to the whole story, then assured me that there would be no problem holding the tote for me for two weeks until I arrived. I was stunned – I know of local stores that won’t hold an item for more than 24 hours. And I was floored – you never realize how much you really want something until you think you can’t have it.

Screen Shot 2014-12-12 at 5.30.46 PMAfter Sanne made her purchase at Tiffany’s – a beautiful key necklace – we headed upstairs to the gift floor. A salesclerk was there waiting for me, knew me by name, and waited why I examined the bag. He was so pleasant, and made me feel like I was every bit as important as their wealthier clients. (He knew I’d saved up for the bag – my big, over-explaining mouth gave that away. So much for last year’s gift to myself). We left the store with that gigantic box inside an even larger bag, and walked back to where we were staying, pretty much crashing into everything (and everyone) I passed.

IMG_3367Fortunately, the box fit underneath the seat on the airplane, considering that every overhead compartment was full and I really wanted to keep my box. I’m thinking of making it the centerpiece for my table at next year’s Ornament Exchange. 🙂

IMG_3484I love this bag. It’s made of canvas and leather, all in that fabulous Tiffany blue. It has tons of space, and just the right number of pockets – I really dislike bags with too many pockets. The outside pockets are magnetic, and there are three zippered spaces. It’s large enough to fit my laptop and would work excellently as a carry-on bag. The tote came with two dustbags, one in Tiffany blue with the company logo on it and another one in white to protect the blue dustbag. I’ve never been so fancy!

Screen Shot 2014-12-12 at 5.43.22 PMI’ve only used it once, truthfully, it’s larger than I expected and I’m not eager to fill it with juice boxes and snacks and crayons and whatever else my girls ask me to carry. But I recently went out for my Bible study group’s Christmas party, and it was the perfect thing to carry our white elephant gifts in. It didn’t even work with my outfit, but I felt like a million bucks just having it on my shoulder. 🙂

IMG_1879I have absolutely no regrets about saving (and spending) money on this tote. It was a very happy birthday! 🙂

8 thoughts on “Happy Birthday to Me!

  1. Sanne Williamson says:

    Yay!! It really just is SO pretty and Im so glad you finally used it!
    So happy for you. ❤️
    Now can we go back to NY please?! Best. Trip. EVER!

Tell me what you think, I'd love to hear from you!

