Never on Top

Let me tell you something about hermit crabs: they have got to be just about the easiest pet on the planet. Probably only second to earthworms. Seriously, you set them up in their crabitat (that’s a real thing), give them some food, water, and sand, and let them do their thing – which 90% of the time involves burying themselves in the sand for weeks at a time. We honestly forget they exist. But despite the lack of work required to care for them, I had an internal meltdown when Emily came downstairs with Crabster’s and Crabba’s water conditioners and needed me to help refill their bottles.

Yup, I nearly lost it. Fortunately, I kept it together in front of Emily, but as soon as she went to bed the tears started to roll. It was the stupidest thing, but it was one more thing that had to be done, one more thing I’d never be finished doing, one more thing that could never really be completed because eventually, it would need to be done again. I just never seem to feel like I’m on top of anything.

In the kitchen it’s the space between the counter and the fridge that desperately needs to be cleaned. In the bedroom there’s the pearl bracelet that broke years ago that I still haven’t had restrung. In the bathroom it’s the bathtub toys that are showing the early telltale spots of mildew and need to be tossed. In the garage – well, let’s not even go in there. And there’s also the times we run out of toilet paper, the kids that constantly need to be fed (why was I not warned about that? 😀 ), the projects I’ve started that I can’t find time to finish, and even keeping up with my own personal needs. I can’t even remember the last time I put on my night face cream.

I just wish that I could feel like I was on top of something. Anything.

I’m sure I come across as someone who’s on top of things, and I promise, I’m not trying to fool anyone but myself. I admit to frantically cleaning my house before anyone comes over, because I believe in putting my home’s best foot forward and because I know I’ll be better able to relax and enjoy my company when things are taken care of. I have a chore schedule for the house – you know, laundry on this day, clean the bathrooms on that day, shop for groceries on another. And that helps a lot, because I can ignore certain messes knowing that tomorrow is they day they’ll be taken care of, or not stress about certain errands because I know that I’ve carved out time for it on the days I don’t have as much to do. But honestly, it isn’t really the day-to-day stuff that makes me feel like I’m drowning, it’s all those little silly things that make me feel like it will never end.

Who am I kidding – I know it won’t ever end. But a girl can dream, right?

And while I’m doing all this dreaming, I’ll make sure those hermit crabs have their water and I’ll make a plan to bring that bracelet to the repair shop. Heck, I even went upstairs halfway through typing this and threw out those bath toys.

Boo-ya. 😀

9 thoughts on “Never on Top

  1. Oh, how I can relate. I feel like I am busy non stop with my two boys and truly get NOTHING accomplished. There is always a stack of mail that needs to be sorted, food that needs to be prepared, laundry to be done, blog posts to write, a dog to walk….you get the picture. And when I feel totally and utterly overwhelmed I just shut down and do nothing–which clearly doesn’t help. My hope for 2015 is that I learn to pour myself a cup of coffee (or wine depending on the time of day) and simply plow through. Or at the very least, just have fun playing legos and not worry about anything else.

    • I’m a little relieved to know that I’m not the only one who shuts down sometimes! Ugh – and it only makes things worse! 😦 I think your goal is fabulous – I’m right there with you! 🙂

  2. Elisa says:

    You are talking to me! As I was reading, I felt like you were describing how I have felt for the past two weeks. I had all these things planned to do, plus time set aside for things I wanted to do. I got most of the “need to do” stuff done and very little of the “want to do.” It’s like there is a perpetual list of “to do,” whether need or want. Thanks for writing this and being so honest. I, too, am trying to better organize my life. BTW, your house always looks wonderful. 🙂

    • Exactly! I didn’t even get into the things that I WANT to do, which can end up making me feel even more overwhelmed once I realize how many things I want to accomplish just for fun that I’ve hardly touched. It’s such a crummy cycle, but endure it we must! 🙂 PS – You’re sweet. ❤

  3. Sanne Williamson says:

    Oh girl, do I ever know what you mean!! 😫
    I’m usually on top of my regular stuff (laundry, bathrooms, etc.) but have a never-ending list of things that I just can’t seem to get around to doing or, let’s face it, just don’t feel like doing when I do have time.
    And the worst part is, when I finally do it it usually doesn’t take much time at all and I wonder why Indisnt just do it _________ (insert time frame) ago.

    • You are preaching to the choir! Seriously, that’s exactly what I’m talking about – the day-to-day is, of course, always there, but it’s all that little stuff. And, like you said, most of it’s dumb stuff that takes just minutes to do. I think sometimes I avoid it just because I can. 😀

  4. purpleprincess24 says:

    Well… you know me… I’m the Queen of Shutting Down. Since I feel overwhelmed 90% of the time and I certainly never get ahead of or on top of Anything! LOL So I just do the things I want to do!! LOL (but yeah.. that doesn’t help, look for me on a future episode of Hoarders! :/ )

Tell me what you think, I'd love to hear from you!

