What to Write?

Jay’s at the wheel, jamming to Chris Thile and Edgar Meyer, and the girls are quietly coloring in the backseat – every so often one of them will share with the other what they are working on: “Hey Emily, I just colored a callapillar green!” Me? I’m riding in the car with my laptop open, trying to think of something interesting to write about.

I’m sure that until I actually began typing this I looked pretty bizarre to passing truckers (or anyone else seated in an elevated driving position). My computer sits in my lap, blank-screened, while I stare out the window. Nothing is coming to mind. The funny thing is that I actually woke up twice last night with topic ideas, but by the time I woke for good in the morning that’s all I could remember – that I had ideas.

I ask Jay what I should write about, and he throws out – jokingly – that I should write about his topic for an upcoming workshop he’s presenting. He’s a riot. I ask the girls, and after struggling for a few minutes and asking me if I’ve already written about her love for bugs (to which I replied that indeed, I already had), Emily finally said, “Whatever. Books.” I didn’t tell her that I’ve written about that too. I turn my attention to Julia, and without hesitation she says, “Pirates.” The only thing that comes to mind anymore when I think about pirates is that Johnny Depp does nothing for me.

We’re on our way to my parents’ house for the weekend, so I’ve got thoughts of them and my brother running through my head – memories of childhood always go hand-in-hand with a visit to their place, and since it’s been months since we’ve gotten together I’m looking forward to seeing them. My half-marathon is this weekend, and I’m thinking of the light, lingering cough that’s still got a hold of me, and wondering if my legs (and the weather) will be kind to me tomorrow morning as I run. Hopefully, by this time tomorrow, I’ll have another medal around my neck.

As always, God’s abundant blessings in my life are also ever-present in my thoughts: my hunk of a husband safely driving us in my car; our beautiful daughters sweetly sharing colored pencils in the backseat; our full bellies after our traditional pre-road trip breakfast at our favorite diner; a trunk packed with bags full of technology, nice clothes, and of course, my Jitney Tote from Tiffany’s.

I guess the ironic thing is that I probably have tons of things I could write about – clearly I’ve managed to write a whole post about having nothing in particular to say. But I think sometimes a lack of focus can be a good thing. I’m more relaxed than usual while writing this, and I’m a big believer that everyone should engage in metacognition now and again.

As for me, I think I’ve met today’s quota. Time to pull out my easy crossword puzzles – I’ve done enough thinking for today. 😛

PS – I wrote this post yesterday and forgot to publish it – my half marathon was this morning and it was great!

7 thoughts on “What to Write?

  1. purpleprincess24 says:

    Sometimes it’s really nice to just let your mind wander… Just remember to keep track of it or it might wander off, like mine 😜

  2. Sanne Williamson says:

    Hee Hee! I got a good chuckle out of this!
    I agree that it’s nice sometimes to just sit and realize just how blessed you really are. ❤️

Tell me what you think, I'd love to hear from you!

