Pull out a Puzzle

It’s National Puzzle Day! 🙂

PuzzleI’ve always been a lover of puzzles – word puzzles, number puzzles, logic puzzles, and of course, jigsaws. I think I get it from my mom and her side of the family; my grandfather is amazing at crossword puzzles and loved working jigsaws, my grandmother enjoys games like Clue, and my mom has always worked at various word puzzles too. Then there’s the bathroom sudoku book my family’s been contributing to for a while now…. 😀 I grew up loving jigsaws the best, but whenever I had to travel somewhere I just couldn’t go without a book of variety puzzles in my bag. I’m still a total nut for games like Tetris, and I’ve always thought it would be fun to be a bagger at a grocery store, fitting all those different shaped items in bags all day like a neverending puzzle.

IMG_5259Today is a day that honors all of these puzzle types and more (well, maybe not the grocery bagging). 🙂 The benefits of working puzzles are many: they keep your mind sharp, increase spatial and logical reasoning, beat boredom, provide relaxation, increase vocabulary (word puzzles) or number sense (number puzzles), and can be lots of fun once you find a puzzle type you enjoy. Puzzles can bring people together – I love picking Jay’s brain to help me complete a crossword (I didn’t inherit any solving talent from my grandfather, unfortunately), and the girls love to help me work on my jigsaws. And of course there’s the satisfaction of completing a puzzle, no matter what kind you do.

I’m currently working on this crazy circular jigsaw that’s just a photo of grass. It’s only 500 pieces, but when the image on every piece is almost identical to the next, it’s a challenge all on its own. I can’t wait to get this one done!

IMG_4924

Happy National Puzzle Day, I hope you all get a chance to relax with one today!

For my other posts on puzzles click here (time lapse video), here (making a puzzle board), and here (progression of a 6,000 piece). 🙂

Tell me what you think, I'd love to hear from you!

