Book List Update

Yay! It’s finally time to update my book list again!

Back in December I decided to start tracking what I’m reading, partly because people are always looking for something new to read and partly because I can never remember what I’ve read. 😉 It’s fun to look back and see what I’ve checked off my list, and it’s also fun to create new reading goals for myself.

Screen Shot 2015-03-19 at 10.03.14 PM

Here’s what I read – again, in no particular order:

  • Insurgent
  • Daddy’s Gone a Hunting
  • Sharp Objects
  • Mean Streak
  • Rules of Civility: A Novel
  • Wild
  • Gone
  • Big Little Lies
  • Just Take my Heart
  • Shopaholic & Baby (audiobook)

It would be impossible to pick a favorite out of this bunch – the writing styles in these books ranges everywhere from mysteries (Daddy’s Gone a Hunting; Just Take My Heart; Mean Streak) to period pieces (Rules of Civility: A Novel). The topics covered self-reflection (Wild) to dysfunctional dystopian societies (Insurgent; Gone) to bubbly, self-indulgent women (Shopaholic & Baby). Gillian Flynn’s murder mystery was creepy, moody, foul, and dark, while Liane Moriarty’s murder mystery had a much more lighthearted, feel-good vibe to it.

And, just as a side note, I wanted to re-read Insurgent before seeing the movie next weekend (which is why it appears on the last book list as well), and Shopaholic & Baby was what I listened to during my last half-marathon (the Shopaholic series is a fun read, but I’ve found that I prefer to listen to them on audiobook instead. I like the narrator’s accent 🙂 ).

I also read a few books geared for younger audiences:

  • Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library
  • The Neverending Story
  • Sideways Stories from Wayside School
    Screen Shot 2015-03-19 at 9.57.57 PM

Every so often Emily will read a book and repeatedly insist that I read it as well once she’s finished with it. Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library was one of those books, and I was reluctant after some of her previous recommendations, but it was actually pretty fun. It’s a great book if you’re trying to get your child to break out of a “series rut,” which was what I was trying to do for Emily when I got it for her. We also finally finished The Neverending Story, which I described a bit more in this post. After that book I thought it might be good to read something more lighthearted and non-committal, so we went to the library and pulled out another favorite from my childhood: Sideways Stories from Wayside School. There were definitely quite a few giggles with that one! 😀

As I neared the end of my book list, I realized I’d better get started on building a new one – especially since I’ve developed the habit of starting a new book almost as soon as I finish one. After reading some reviews on Amazon (and taking advantage of a couple of Kindle freebies that sounded good), getting recommendations from others, and learning which authors I’m growing fond of, I’ve built my new reading list! 🙂

Screen Shot 2015-03-24 at 9.46.09 PM

  • What Alice Forgot
  • The Dead Key
  • Wreckage
  • Where the Suckers Moon: The Life and Death of an Advertising Campaign
  • The Husband’s Secret
  • Dark Places
  • Oh Yeah, Audrey!
  • Allegiant (reread)
  • The Girl on the Train

I’ve also got the next books I’d like to read to Emily all lined up:

Screen Shot 2015-03-24 at 9.47.44 PM

  • Holes
  • The Phantom Tollbooth

I’m eager to attack my new list – let me know if you’ve read anything good that you think I should add to it! 🙂

8 thoughts on “Book List Update

  1. Amy T says:

    I love that our lists are so similar. Those are some of the same books I’ve got on my kindle now. 🙂 I bet Emily will like both of those books, but especially Phantom Tollbooth. So good. I’m so looking forward to reading books like that with Will.

    • I’m so happy to have things to read again! You were one of the people who turned me on to some of these authors, I’m not surprised we share some future reads! 🙂 I can’t wait to read Phantom Tollbooth to Emily – we looked for it at the library but it wasn’t there, so we started on Holes instead. 🙂

  2. Sanne Williamson says:

    5 of your 9 books are on my wish list as well. Looking forward to getting started on them and discussing them with you! 😊

  3. Great list! Did you ever read Cabinet of Curiosities? Did you like it? Harlan Coben is also a great author that you might like to check out. One of his newer great books is called Six Years.

    • Yes, I read Cabinet a while back after you recommended it! I think I’ll be adding more Pendergast novels to my next list for sure. I’ll be sure to look into Coben’s book too, thanks for the recommendation! 🙂

Tell me what you think, I'd love to hear from you!

