My Favorite Part of the Day

When I started this blog, my tagline was “Finding Smiles in Everyday Life”. I wanted to write a blog about finding those sliver linings, those beautiful and joyful moments that occur if we just take the time to look for them, acknowledge them, and allow them to be absorbed.

In the end though, it just didn’t seem like me. It was a little too perky, a little too chipper. I definitely make it a daily practice to look for those sunshine-y moments, but I didn’t want anyone to think I walk around with a permagrin. I’ve also got a cynical, sarcastic, realistic side that refuses to shut down no matter how huge my smile. As Jay says, I’ve got a sassy side. Fortunately for me, he likes it. 😀

But that doesn’t mean that I can’t see life’s highlights when they occur. Despite all those lovely qualities I mentioned above, there are still a number of daily occurrences that are sure to cause me to smile: getting the kitchen cleaned before taking Emily to school in the morning… Julia’s spontaneous kisses… Jay walking in the door at the end of the day… finishing a running event… scheduling a night out with a friend.

But if there’s one thing I had to pin down, one thing that earns the trophy for being my absolute favorite thing in my day, it’s picking Emily up from school. I’ve mentioned before that I love sitting in the car line, and that a big part of the enjoyment I get from it is that I’m able to utilize that time to get things done. But to be honest, getting to the school early means that I’m already parked at the dismissal gate… which means I get to see Emily even sooner.

IMG_4131

Now, I am NOT that mushy momma. I like my “me-time,” I hated baby-wearing, and I’m not offended if my girls would rather play on their own or with a friend than be with me. It doesn’t bother me if we don’t snuggle during movie time, and when they get hurt I have no sympathy if it happened after I warned them a million times to be careful before that exact thing happened. I don’t even think about Emily all that much during the day (or Julia if I’m not with her), because I know that she’s safe and having fun.

But when the end of the school day rolls around, something lights up inside of me. Knowing that she’s about to get in the car and that I’m about to be reunited with part of my heart just makes me so incredibly happy. I’m sure it helps that she ‘s a good student and genuinely loves school, but to be honest I think even if I knew she wasn’t a big fan of it I’d still be just as excited to see her.

IMG_4146

Next year Julia starts Pre-K, which means I get to do a second pick-up everyday. The following year she’ll be in Kindergarten, and the girls will be at the same school and I’ll be back to just one pickup again. But to know that I’ll be getting both girls back with me every day, well, I think my heart might just bust with joy. ❤

3 thoughts on “My Favorite Part of the Day

  1. Aww that’s very sweet. I love picking Derek up from pre-K too. It’s a fun time to learn about his day and have some fun. He is always in a great mood at the end of the day, and just beams at me when he sees me there to get him. It’s fun.

    Now that your little one will be in school every day starting in August, do you think you’ll go back to work, or are you planning to be a sahm for a while longer? I just started putting out feelers and responding to some ads in the last couple of weeks. I am ready to return to the working world after 5.5 years! LOL

    Penny

  2. Sanne Williamson says:

    This is so sweet and I love the pics of Emily! ❤️
    I must admit I envy you though… Of course I love picking up my kiddos and seeing them after a long day at school, but I can’t say it’s my favorite part of the day as B and O often get into ridiculous arguments on the drive home. B has been an angel all day at school so he takes it all out on O in the car who happens to also be very good at knowing exactly which buttons to push. It’s awful and I’m usually ready to return them back to school after less than 5 minutes! Haha!!
    Enjoy those special moments! 😊

Tell me what you think, I'd love to hear from you!

