Running Bucket List

Runner’s Envy.

Oh, it’s real, and I’ve got it BAD.

It doesn’t help that I was born with a green streak running through me – jealousy is a nasty beast that I find myself beating into submission on a regular basis. And when I started running there were lots of things other runners had that I could be jealous of. Speed, distance, cute running clothes, tight tushies, fun sneaks, racks full of medals… other runners seem to have it all figured out. But to be honest, I’ve never been jealous of any of that. In fact, for the longest time the only thing I wanted was to be able to breathe without sounding like a freight train.

Then I ran my first 5K, became a medal junkie, and found that easy breathing wasn’t the only thing other runners had that I wanted.

I wanted events. Experiences. Medals. I wanted to be able to say, “I did such-and-such event!” when it came up in conversation. Or even if I just wanted to casually bring it up in conversation. Or if I was talking to myself and wanted to mention it out of sheer lunacy. I wanted to see a brochure or an ad on Facebook for an upcoming run and already have an opinion on it because I’d already added the event to my list of completed runs. I wanted to do it ALL.

Running events aren’t cheap though, so a girl’s gotta be selective. I’ve also got two sweet girls that need caring for while I’m off at these events. Not to mention I’m not exactly the most devoted runner, and while one month I may be able to run 8 miles at a time, the next month I might barely be able to finish two. All in all, it’s not easy to plan out which events I want to participate in the most. I’ve got a few events that I’m determined to do though, and jump on any chance I have to make these happen!

Screen Shot 2015-06-16 at 9.21.42 PM

I almost signed up for the St. Augustine Half Marathon last year, but the dates just weren’t working out for our family. It usually falls right around my birthday though, so I can definitely see this – or even the 10K – in my future! 🙂

Screen Shot 2015-06-16 at 9.45.34 PMI’ve never dreamed of being a princess, but I have definitely dreamed of completing the Glass Slipper Challenge during Disney’s Princess Half Marathon weekend! First, you complete the 10K on Saturday, then you complete the half marathon on Sunday for a total of 19.3 miles. You end up with a finisher’s medal for the 10K, the half, AND a third medal for completing both. How ridiculously awesome is THAT?

Screen Shot 2015-06-16 at 9.31.52 PM

After my first half marathon I felt invincible. Seriously, I was ready to enter the IronMan competition. Thankfully, I didn’t, and instead set my sights a bit lower – now I’m dying to complete an obstacle run of some sort. If there’s mud involved, all the better!

Screen Shot 2015-06-16 at 9.01.03 PM

I grew up watching Nick at Nite (back when they aired Petticoat Junction and Taxi), and I loved I Dream of Jeannie. So I was kinda giddy when I heard that there was a half marathon in Cocoa Beach with a medal shaped like Jeannie’s genie bottle. Plus I’ve heard there’s a division for folks who want to run dressed like Jeannie or Major Nelson, so that definitely makes it more entertaining!

Screen Shot 2015-06-16 at 9.02.01 PMThe last run on my bucket list is perhaps the hands-down winner… medal-wise, anyway. Completing the Run Nike Women’s 15K or half marathon earns you an exclusive necklace designed in part by Tiffany & Co. Yup. Finish the race, get a Tiffany’s necklace. Because of its popularity, the event allows entrants in via a lottery system. The next event is a half marathon scheduled for this fall in San Francisco, but I think I’d actually prefer to do the 15K if they hold it again in Toronto next year.

I’m sure once I’ve completed a couple of these I’ll have a few more ready to take their place on my bucket list, but for now I think I’ve got enough to tackle! 😀

Tell me what you think, I'd love to hear from you!

