Book List Update

This summer has been great for reading! Since my last book list update I’ve been chugging away, knocking off almost every book I added in April. This last round of books really encompassed a wider range of genres than I usually read, and I was surprised at how much I really enjoyed stepping out of my comfort zone of mysteries and crime dramas. It definitely encouraged me to continue to mix things up a bit!Screen Shot 2015-07-29 at 9.30.30 AM

Here’s what I read, and some thoughts I had after reading:

The Girl on the Train – This was hard to put down, I’m looking forward to the movie!
Oh Yeah, Audrey – A fun little story about some online friends who meet up for the first time at Tiffany & Co. It’s a super light read, I enjoyed it but found it a bit too short for my liking.
Yellow Crocus – An interesting story about a wet nurse and the life lessons she passes on to her charge. Difficult to read, as it reveals some of the horrors of slavery, and yet also enlightening and encouraging. I loved the ending.
Where the Suckers Moon: The Life and Death of an Advertising Agency – This nonfiction was recommended to me by Jay, who had to read it as part of his coursework. If you’re interested in how advertising firms pitch their ideas to companies, this book is for you. I found the process fascinating, but a huge part of the book was data and historical factoids, which made it hard to get through.
Wreckage – I wasn’t attached to any of the characters, but the concept was interesting. I was a little underwhelmed at the “twist” in the story, and although I enjoyed the book I was glad that it had been a freebie I’d found on Amazon.
The Husband’s Secret – I really liked this one, although it was somewhat predictable. I’ve become a fast fan of Ms. Moriarty’s work!
Dark Places – I’ve read Gone Girl and Sharp Objects, and this was by far my favorite of the three. I was completely sucked in and although I had ideas about what was going on, in the end there was just no way I could have put all the pieces together.
Scary Close: Dropping the Act and Finding True Intimacy – I resisted this one at first, but a sweet friend insisted that I’d like it and she was right – this book was 100% good stuff.
The Dead Key – I really loved this one, but it’s a crime drama so it was already at an advantage. An easy read with more than a few suspenseful moments.

That was pretty much everything on my last reading list! I had already read and enjoyed Allegiant, but I decided to wait to re-read it just before the movie comes out next year. And I hadn’t realized I’d put two of Liane Moriarty’s books on my last book list, so I decided to move What Alice Forgot to my new list instead. So even though I ended up cutting two books from the list, I somehow managed to sneak in two others I hadn’t planned on at all. 🙂

And here’s my new list:Screen Shot 2015-07-29 at 10.07.17 AM

  • The Light Between Oceans – M.L. Stedman
  • The Good Girl – Mary Kubica
  • What Alice Forgot – Liane Moriarty
  • What She Left Behind – Ellen Marie Wiseman
  • The Vacationers – Emma Straub
  • The Melody Lingers On – Mary Higgins Clark
  • The Best Yes – Lysa Terkeurst
  • The Collector – John Fowles
  • Go Set a Watchman – Harper Lee
  • Uncle Tom’s Cabin – Harriet Beecher Stowe

I’m looking forward to every one of these books, can’t wait to get started!

Happy reading, everyone! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Book List Update

  1. Sanne Williamson says:

    I’m seriously so impressed with how much you read!!
    Next on my list are: Looking for Alaska, The Vacationers, Sharp Objects and The Husband’s Secret.
    I really am so grateful you (well, and THG 😉) got me back into reading!!

Tell me what you think, I'd love to hear from you!

