Julia-Speak

It’s one thing to mispronounce words, and it’s another to have your own phrases and ways of describing things. Julia’s only 4, but she’s got her own linguistic style. And it never fails to make us smile.

IMG_8841

For example, a common Julia-phrase while reading a book is scoop the page.” This is her version of saying turn the page,” but it makes a lot of sense when you think about it, because when you go to turn a page your hand sort of scoops the paper up. What doesn’t make sense is that she sometimes applies this to watching TV, and she’ll ask us to scoop the channel or scoop the shows.” I just can’t bring myself to correct her though. (PS – Here’s one of my all-time favorite videos of her reading. 🙂 )

The other day we were at the table talking about something fun we all liked doing this summer, and after sharing hers she told us all that it’s her favorite because it’s the much most more funnest ever.” How can you disagree with logic like that? 😀

IMG_6963

But my favorite is when she talks about decorating the bed.” In Julia-speak, this is her way of saying “make the bed,” but I’m guessing she has issues with that phrasing since she’s not actually creating a bed out of thin air. I just love it when she runs up to me with a huge smile on her face and says, “Mommy! I decorated my bed all by myself!” 🙂 In all honesty, I think I like her way of saying it better.

IMG_0212

Then there’s also the seemingly endless list of words that she just can’t seem to pronounce no matter how many times we practice with her:

  • wusually (usually)
  • bekbast (breakfast)
  • amember (remember)
  • pocksicle (popsicle)
  • Valenstime’s Day
  • instrodoosting (introducing)

IMG_7970I think my favorite mispronunciation though was when my best friend and I were planning a trip to New York and I was trying to explain to Julia that I’d be gone for a few days. She looked up at me and said, “Have fun in You Nork, Mommy!” Oh, my heart. ❤

When Emily was younger she of course struggled with word pronunciations too, and to this day I can remember the day she stopped mispronouncing “tarantula.” For the longest time she called it a “tralantrula” and no matter how much she begged I refused to tell her the right way to say it. Then one day she got in the car after school, looked right in my eyes, and said it correctly. I was crying as I drove out of the parking lot. My baby girl had lost her last word. 😥

It’s been almost 9 months since Sanne and I took that trip, and to this day Julia still can’t say “New York.” I think I’m going to leave it that way – I wouldn’t change this girl’s unique style of talking for anything. Her sense of style… now that’s another thing entirely. 😀

IMG_7238

5 thoughts on “Julia-Speak

  1. Sanne Williamson says:

    Love this so much!! I think it’s so her to come up with her own words for things- she’s such a hoot!! 😂
    I’m with you on not correcting certain words. We’ve done that with the boys too.
    Connor calls claws clobs and gloves globs. We love it so much and have told O and B they can not correct it!!
    I even have some short movies of him saying certain words and some he’s already saying correctly now so I’m so glad I filmed him saying them. (Like him calling coconuts co-nee-nuts. ❤️😂)

Tell me what you think, I'd love to hear from you!

