What I’m Reading

Well, I completely got out of whack on my reading list.

I usually prefer to fully complete a list before I create a new one, but when I went and checked my last book list update I realized that I only kinda sorta followed it. Not exactly a tragedy, but I definitely want to straighten things out and get back on track. No book should ever be forgotten, after all. 😉

So here’s the list I was trying to get through before starting a new one:

Screen Shot 2015-07-29 at 10.07.17 AM

I didn’t get through all of them, although I honestly thought I did. I keep a wishlist of the books I’d like to read on Amazon, that way I don’t forget about any of them. The system has been pretty foolproof – at least, until Christmas came and I removed them all from my Amazon list so that my family wouldn’t accidentally buy me the printed versions (I read on my Kindle). As a result, I completely missed The Vacationers and The Melody Lingers On – although in my defense I did read a Mary Higgins Clark novel, I just got the title mixed up and read the wrong one. As far as Go Set a Watchman, I keep meaning to borrow a friend’s hardcover copy, but I always seem to leave her house without it… :p

Here’s what I did read, and what I thought of them:
The Light Between Oceans – This was a really amazing story, with a plot that centered around right vs. wrong. I absolutely loved the way the author describes everything.
The Good Girl – It was an interesting story until the end. The motives of the characters seemed a bit odd to me.
What Alice Forgot – Another great and easy read by Liane Moriarty.
What She Left Behind – An interesting fictional look at an early insane asylum in the U.S. I liked the story, but the ending was predictable. I’m going to look for more novels that center around these asylums though, I found that aspect quite fascinating.
The Best Yes – READ. THIS. BOOK. Especially if you have a hard time saying “no” to people. I’ve slowly been applying the Biblical truths I learned from it, and I really feel like I’m getting better at identifying the things I should be saying “yes” to.
The Collector – My best friend recommended this, and I enjoyed it a lot. The book is told from the perspectives of two different characters, which made it hard to put down.
Uncle Tom’s Cabin – I can’t say enough good things about this book. I’m actually disappointed that I didn’t read this when I first wanted to as a young girl. It moved me to tears, and was ended so beautifully – yet didn’t ignore the struggles that were the focus of the rest of the novel. I will definitely re-read this again in the future.

I also managed to read a few that weren’t on my original list:

Screen Shot 2016-01-02 at 10.16.24 PM.png

The Cinderella Murder – This is the first book in a 2-book series, and, like all Mary Higgins Clark books, I totally loved it.
The Scorch Trials – I’d read this before (when I read the series), and had no intention of reading it again. But a good bit of the movie didn’t seem right, so I reread the book to find the discrepancies. There were more differences than similarities. Boo.
The Hunger Games series – The last movie came out in November. I’m a huge fan. Of COURSE I reread the entire series again to prepare! 😀

And that brings me to my new list!

Screen Shot 2016-01-02 at 11.34.29 PM

  • Fates and Furies – Lauren Groff
  • All Dressed in White – Mary Higgins Clark & Alafair Burke
  • Sundays at Tiffany’s – James Patterson
  • The Vacationers – Emma Straub
  • The Heart Goes Last – Margaret Atwood
  • Go Set a Watchman – Harper Lee
  • The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo – Stieg Larsson
  • The Hypnotist’s Love Story – Liane Moriarty
  • The Melody Lingers On – Mary Higgins Clark

Please let me know if you’ve read anything good lately! 🙂

4 thoughts on “What I’m Reading

  1. Sanne says:

    Whenever I read one of your posts about what you’re reading it’s like a good old kick in the butt to pick my Kindle back up again! I love that!
    I’ve not read anything since we re-read THG (gasp!!) so it was about time!
    I’m so glad you enjoyed The Collector btw!

  2. I read this post, my book lists are so similar that I seriously thought “do I know her?!?” I’m currently reading All Dressed In White by Mary Higgins Clark, already read Cinderella Murder last year. I loved The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty but I’m on the library wait list for What Alice Forgot. I read The Good Girl but didn’t think it was all that great either, many compared it to Gone Girl which I thought Gone Girl was better – another similar title book is The Good Guy by Dean Koontz and that was a really good read, also better than The Good Girl.

    • I’ll have to check out The Good Guy, thanks! I’ve always loved MHC, and I’m up for anything she writes or co-writes. Moriarty is good for something light in between heavier stuff. LOL What Alice Forgot was great, you’ll love it! 🙂

Tell me what you think, I'd love to hear from you!

