5K’n with my Man

In 2014 I ran the Castaway Cay 5K while vacationing on a Disney cruise. It was such a unique experience – I mean, a 5K in the Bahamas? And a Disney 5K at that? I knew there was a good chance we’d find ourselves on another Disney cruise in the future, but I also felt pretty strongly that even if I ran this 5K again it just wouldn’t get any better than that first time.

And then Jay decided he was going to run it with me. ❤

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A year later I found myself standing at the Port Adventures desk in the lobby of the ship requesting a ticket to run this event again. At the last minute Jay stepped up and asked for one too. He’d signed up to run a 5K a few months away and was training for it, so he thought this might be a good way to see how he might fare later. A trial 5K, you could say. He was worried that he was going to slow me down and that I wouldn’t have as great of an experience as I was hoping for,  but I really wanted to stay with him the whole time so I could encourage him to keep going – even if it meant we had to walk part of the route. That’s love, baby.

IMG_2184

We met the other participants in one of the ship’s many lounges, where we were all given instructions on how where to drop off our kids, the 5K’s route on the island, and any other information we needed to know before disembarking. One of the best things about this event is that Scuttle’s Cove, the island’s kids’ club, opens at 9:00 – but since the run starts at 9:00a and is only open to ages 10 and up, a few Disney crew members open Scuttle’s Cove a few minutes earlier so that parents are able participate in the run. Thank you Disney! ❤

IMG_2195

The run was awesome (of course). 🙂 Jay and I started out together, and ran about a mile before walking. It was H-O-T out, and the route has very little shade, but we pushed through, alternating walking and running as we went. Before we knew it, we were halfway done!

IMG_2232

Jay does not enjoy being in the heat, and I was SO proud of him for not giving up – especially since the way the course is laid out it would have been easy to quit halfway through without even needing to complete the whole thing.

IMG_2217

When we were about 3/4 of a mile from the finish line, I sprinted ahead so that I could improve my time a little and also take pictures of my sweaty hunk completing his first 5K. He completed the run in just under 40 minutes, which I think is amazing considering it was his first one and how much of it we walked!

IMG_2253

Last year’s run was amazing, but I just gotta say that I love LOVE ❤ that I finally got to take a medal photo with this man. I love that we are both wearing bibs. I love that we are both all sweaty (yet smiling). I love that we are both sporting the same bling. I just love this picture so much!

IMG_2260

Running with Jay definitely improved the overall experience. I love having someone to talk to when I run, and when I’m on vacation I just can’t get enough of him. So spending time with my man while doing one of my favorite things was just perfect. I just ignored the rest of the people on the island who all felt the need to say the same thing: “Why would anyone run on vacation?” 😀

IMG_2244

PS CHECK OUT THAT MEDAL! Such a huge improvement over last year! From what we were told, when I ran the Castaway Cay 5K last year it was not an official runDisney event, so they were not sponsoring the medals. The Mickey ears I got were actually the same medals the ship gives out as prizes for other activities, like winning trivia night. But now the Castaway Cay 5K is sponsored by runDisney, which means a much nicer medal!

Screen Shot 2016-01-12 at 12.26.36 PM

12 thoughts on “5K’n with my Man

    • Disney cruises are the best, I highly recommend booking one!
      As far as the 5K, it was completely FREE! 🙂 You just have to stop at the Port Adventures desk as soon as you get on the ship and ask them for the ticket. We were told that future Castaway Cay medals will most likely not have the year on them, but as far as I know they will still look similar to the one I received this time.
      There is at least one cruise a year where the Castaway Cay 5K is a part of the runDisney Coast-to-Coast medal, meaning you can run the 5K on the island and then another run in either California’s or Florida’s parks in the same calendar year for an additional medal, but I’m not sure what those sailing dates are. I’m also not sure if there’s an extra charge for that event.

  1. Sanne says:

    So fun!!! I’m so happy for you that you guys got to do this run together- I know it meant so much to you! ❤️
    And that is an awesome medal!!

  2. Amy says:

    40 mins for a first 5k, and in that heat is amazing!! Well done to Jay (and you too of course)!

    We are going on our first Disney Cruise in April and those new medals look amazing so it’s definitely on our list of things to do! We are also managing to squeeze in the WDW Star Wars 5k on the morning we set sail! I think we’re crazy!

    I’m not a very good runner (unlike my hubby who is marathon man!) but I just have to do it to get those Run Disney medals! We did the Tower of Terror 10 miler a couple of years ago and it was hard but worth it! We’re from the UK so I don’t know that many people over here who’ve done it so it’s always great for us to bag such a unique souvenir. Thank you for the great review! Amy 🙂

    • Thank you so much for your sweet encouragement!
      You will LOVE the Disney cruise experience! We’ve become hooked on them! I would love to do any of the Star Wars runs, I’m totally jealous. You’re absolutely correct, those runDisney medals have quite a collectible quality about them. 🙂 I’ve only done a few (my first 5K was the Halloween Disney one a couple of years ago… I wonder if we were there at the same time?), but I’d love to add more to my lot. Don’t forget to stop at the Port Adventures desk when you board the ship and ask for your 5K tickets!
      Best of luck to you on your run(s), and I hope that you have a wonderful cruise! 🙂

  3. This post is so awesome – I had been trying to start exercising more and this may just be the encouragement I need! I mean, training for a 5k doesn’t sound all that interesting to me BUT training for a 5k on Castaway Cay definitely makes it sound more fun! And thanks for the pics comparing the medals, definitely a big difference. I probably won’t make it to Castaway Cay until 2017 but that just gives me a whole year to get ready for it! Oh yeah!

    • You can totally do it! 🙂 When I started running I honestly could barely make it 500 feet without losing my breath. It just took time and dedication to get myself to my first 5K – and once I ran that I was completely hooked! Finding the right running event to motivate you is a great idea, too. I have a list of running-related posts on my blog that describe what my running experience has been since the beginning, hopefully that will encourage you a bit more! 🙂 Best of luck to you!

      https://frozencokefridays.wordpress.com/running/

Tell me what you think, I'd love to hear from you!

