Ho Ho Hoping this 5K is Enough…

…to burn off all those peppermint cookies I ate over the holidays!

Last year (which in this post means 2014 😛 ) I ran the Jingle Jog 5K, and I loved it so much that I signed up to run it again!

IMG_2996

This event comes with a Santa suit for every participant, and when I ran it last year I wore the whole ensemble (not the beard though, it tickled 🙂 ). Since the suit was made of felt and December in South Florida can still bring 90 degree temps, for this run I decided to chop the sleeves off the jacket and run in that and the pants…

IMG_2973

…but then the entire crotch of the pants disintegrated. I’m fun, but I’m not willing to be THAT fun during a race! 😀

IMG_2975

There’s no doubt you’re in the right place at this event. I just love that no matter where you look, there’s a sea of Santas.

IMG_2986

IMG_2998

Then there are the costumes! My friend Carolyn ran the entire 5K with a reindeer hobby horse. (She’s the one who ran the St. Patrick’s Day 4-miler in a beer hat. 😀 )

This guy ran in a gathered Christmas tree skirt:

IMG_3007

And this guy’s dog was dressed up as a reindeer, with a little stuffed Santa hanging on for dear life:

IMG_3006

But my favorite was the guy dressed up as a snowman from head to toe. My friend Jen pointed him out as he passed us, and I ran to catch up with him so I could get a picture from the front too. 🙂

IMG_3009

IMG_3010

There weren’t any carolers along the route this time, but we did have Santa – the REAL Santa – drive by to cheer us on!

IMG_3004

This run offered free mimosas to finishers, so I passed my free beer ticket to someone and finally enjoyed a drink I love! I think more races need to start offering free mimosas… or Starbucks frappuccinos… or shoot, while I’m dreaming, why not frozen cokes? 😀

IMG_3013

It was a ton of fun, and I absolutely LOVE my Christmas tree medal! Of course, as soon as it was over I went home to eat more of those cookies. Hey, I earned it! 😉

IMG_3021

One thought on “Ho Ho Hoping this 5K is Enough…

Tell me what you think, I'd love to hear from you!

